Open Letter #7: To My Future Children 


(c) Google Images

Hi sweethearts,

This is your mummy from her spinster years. Just thought I would pen down a letter telling you about myself at this moment since I’m sure I’d have changed a little after you came along. Judging from my chubby toddler self, I wouldn’t be surprised if you turned out the same way. I can picture you running around in your puffy diapers, big cheeks and adorable laughter…I can’t wait to meet you.

Just so you know, I’ve always had this uncertain feeling of how you would turn out. I keep asking, would I be a great mother or a terrible one? Are you going to grow up into responsible persons of whom I’d be proud of raising or am I going to mess you up? I’ve come to learn that parenting is less of providing food, shelter and education and more of establishing a relationship that you can count on no matter the winds of change that life blows our way. But I comfort myself with the fact that I turned up okay and so there’s hope that you will too.

I hope to be a good parent and a dependable friend as well; principled enough to be firm about my values and in my decisions and understanding enough to hear out whatever may be on your mind and offer advice. As you know, I love to stay indoors and I may try to make you do same because of my upbringing; but I’ve to come to learn that a little more sunshine and hanging out with friends help keep one healthy and sociable. I know my parents did their best in raising me but I want to do better.

When I was younger, I never gave much thought to ever meeting you because I was convinced the world would have ended way before I reached that age. But if you’re reading this letter, then the time is nearer than ever. One fear I’ve always had was having to be caught up into heaven leaving one or two of you behind. I don’t think I would be able to forgive myself for failing you and God for making you miss heaven. God forbid that should happen.

I want you to know that everything that I do is to ensure that you get the very best out of life so you can be all that you were meant to be. But also remember that to whom much is given, much is required. I expect you to make good use of every opportunity given you and be outstanding even in the little things. 

I don’t plan to spare the rod with you because I love you and one only corrects whom she loves. One only ignores and feels indifferent when he sees someone going astray when he doesn’t care for that person. I wasn’t spared and I am glad for that. You will be too. 

As your father and I conceived you in love, so will we continue to raise, support and care for you wholeheartedly. I pray you see the world in dimensions I didn’t get to see, that you’re not afraid to voice out your thoughts and daring enough to chase your dreams. Remember, the God of your grandparents and parents is with you always.

May you be as diligent as I am, as caring as your uncle Ephraim, ambitious as your auntie Abbie Rhoda, selfless like your grandma Emelia and principled as your granddad Joseph. With God on your side, the sky is only the beginning. I can’t wait to see what you become. I know you will be a blessing to your generation and leave a lasting inspiring legacy. I love you beyond words…forever and always.
With a heart full of love,

Mom.
*****

I hope I’ve inspired you to write a letter to your [future] children as well. Technology and social media have relegated letter writing to the background and maybe it is time to pick it up again as nothing beats a sincerely written letter. If you happen to be estranged with your kids, it is about time you made up with them. One can never tell when it might be the last time you might hear from them or vice versa. A blog toast to our children, yeah? 🍷
© Josephine Amoako 2016

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved this 😍😍😍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you do 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Très beau Joseyphina 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Merci, Gys. Bonne journée !

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joymanda says:

    ☺☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bassey Etim says:

    “When I was younger, I never gave much thought to ever meeting you because I was convinced the world would have ended way before I reached that age.”

    Thought so too, lol
    Great letter…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah 😂 thanks dear

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bassey Etim says:

        Thank you too…have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This is absolutely lovely and something that is so valuable and precious especially written down, believe me!!
    It would be great if you could have a look at my blog as a Christian facing infertility!
    Well done on the writing and I am sure this is going to be something your future children will cherish 🙂

    AQFMTM xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. I’ll definitely pass by your blog. ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

