Open Letter #3: To My Future Spouse


(c) shutterstock images.

Dearest you,

I hope to remember to show you this letter before I take on your name. We have a long way to go after the happy ceremony, just so you know. Though I can’t picture you right now, I’m assured that just looking at you will make my heart content knowing I chose well. 

First of all, I wish you well for deciding to choose me as your life partner out of the lot. I say so because I can be quite a handful to live with. Ask Amanda…lol. But I promise to make it a worthwhile experience. I know no matter how long we knew each other before we became one, we would still discover some incredible and shocking traits about each other. I hope your true colors will not make me doubt my conviction about you but would rather confirm it. I pray you’d share similar sentiments.

As you would come to know, I prefer to stay indoors and prefer to watch movies on my TV screen and eat home-made meals as to going to the movies or eating out. But in case you’re my personality antonym, I’m ready to compromise and meet you halfway. My friends used to tease me that I’m most likely to pop out a lot of babies because I love to stay indoors but I hope it won’t come to that.

Maybe it’s the many books I’ve read, movies I’ve watched and the few real life circumstances I’ve observed, I’m a bit skeptical about declarations of love and promises of being there for each other and how much water they hold. But I understand that people change over time and I don’t expect anything different with you and me. However it is my prayer that our bond grows stronger as we change physically and emotionally. And as our relationship grows into a full-blown family, we wouldn’t devolve into being strangers living under the same roof trying to raise some strong-headed kids.

As much as I will love you wholeheartedly as humanly possible, you know that God is my first love and He will always be my number one. I hope that you wouldn’t try to take His place or put me in a position where I’d have to choose between you two but instead, you’d help me get even closer to Him and ensure my intimacy with Him doesn’t wax cold under life’s many pressures.

I know there are going to be times when we would be furious with each other and we wouldn’t look at each with affection and admiration; instances where unpleasant words would be exchanged in the heat of the moment and times where negative thoughts would be racing through our minds about each other but even during our darkest days, know that I love you. Forgive me if I fall short from time to time. Don’t leave me to handle it all by myself. I’d need you the more when I try to push you away.

I hope not to put our children in the midst of our fights forcing them to take sides. No matter whatever issues we may have, we shouldn’t traumatize and eventually break them by our words and actions when we would definitely settle them later. They don’t deserve that. And let’s do our very best to give them the best in life, ok? Teaching them to fear the Lord being the principal thing.

I hope you love movies, music and books. Because we would be talking about them a lot. I may not be on the lookout for you since I have a lot on my mind at the moment. But if you do happen to spot me, do call me out in case I fail to notice you. I don’t want to be walking in circles when you’re right there.

I’ll end it here. We’ll talk more in person.
A thousand kisses,

Your helpmeet.
*****

I hope you enjoyed the read. I will love to read yours as well be it addressed to a future spouse, an actual one, a deceased or even separated one as it pertains to you. Queen V, Makaitah, Roland, and Desmond, should I expect one from each of you? 

Thanks for reading, folks!

© Josephine Amoako 2016

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanya says:

    Dearest You. We’ll talk more when we meet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so sweet…as I read I begin to wonder how future spouse will look like and how we’d weather the beautiful storm call marriage together until Jesus calls for us or come for us…

    That journey looks scary tho…*sign of the cross* So help me God

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is a scary journey, indeed but with God on our side, we shall smile at the storm. Thanks for reading, dear

      Liked by 2 people

  3. somawrites says:

    This is so beautiful:) You sure are on the right track 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh I am? Good to know! Thanks for reading 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      1. somawrites says:

        Yes, you are, dear Josey 🙂 my pleasure 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. abi's take says:

    Oh wow this is so beautiful and heartfelt! x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you, Abi. 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Elikem says:

    Beautiful piece.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Elikem. It’s been a while. Glad you could pass by. ☺

      Like

  6. That’s sweet and Honest☺👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Vivek. ☺

      Like

  7. pappy116 says:

    I knew you’d come for me very soon.😂😂😂😂😂. The way i planned to go on a blogging break paaa and you just hijacked me . #Let’s just pretend i didn’t see it😁😁😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Then you can write it when you resume from the break☺😁😀

      Like

      1. pappy116 says:

        Lol i remember being delivered from the spirit of procrastination.I refuse to allow it back😄😄😄😄😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Okay then! 👍

        Like

  8. AtimMercy says:

    Aawww… So sweet. Love it .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Mercy. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. joymanda says:

    Eish, I’m already imagining amazing things in my head. *off to draft my open letter to my future spouse*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yay! Looking forward to it! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        Wait for it, it’s coming. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

    2. joseyphina says:

      Yay! Looking forward to it! 👍

      Like

  10. This is really beautiful. I could just about paste it as my own open letter to future spouse. Mostly the part where you emphasize God is number one and that you hope spouse would only bring you closer into the enfolds of God’s love and not take you away.
    🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Cynthia. 😊

      Like

  11. Kewrites says:

    Now this is lovely Phina, hope she springs forth and comes for you! But he’s got to read this:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

