Moony Reflections 


(c) Google Images.

#DailyPost

As much as the darkness of the night can be awful;

I’m not scared of it as it approaches;

Because I can count on the moon;

To light up the sky;


Soft is its light;

But bright enough it is to light my path;

No matter how far I walk;

I find it right in front of me;

As if it is moving with me;

Keeping me company;

Till I get home;

 

Whiles the sun’s energy has the tendency;

To make me hyper, bubbly and even aggressive;

The caresses of the moon on my face;

Renders me sober, calm and reflective;

As the noise of the world simmers down into hushed tones;

And all the loud voices and thoughts in my head go to sleep;

I am tempted to worry about what becomes of me;

When the sun comes back up the next morning;

But the moon soothes my mind;

Reminding me to be grateful for the day;

As tomorrow’s issues will take care of themselves;

 

Just as the moon’s existence makes the night less scary;

And can be counted on to show up when you need it to;

It reminds me that no matter how terrible situations become;

I have Someone to count on to show up to see me through;

Just as the moon moves with me with every step in the night;

The Creator of the moon is with me through thick and thin;

 

So there’s nothing to worry about;

As long as there’s the option to pray about it;

If the moonlight can calm my nerves;

Then God can calm my troubled heart;

If I can trust the moon to appear in the sky;

Then what stops me from trusting that;

God will be by my side when life takes a dark turn?

 

I’m grateful for the moon’s prompt response to darkness;

But I’m even more grateful for God’s sure presence;

To keep me company when I feel most helpless.

 

What does the moon teach you?

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess Wen says:

    Wonderful poem. The moon teaches me that I am but a small part of this huge universe; my troubles are unimportant and my achievements are unimpressive. Perspective is vital in this hectic world, and the moon gives me that. Thanks for a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting perspective! Thanks for sharing, Jess☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Simon says:

    This a a great piece. For me the moon teaches me the cycles of life, it waxes and wanes, comes and goes but it always there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Simon. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Simon says:

        A pleasure Joseyohina ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The moon is light in the dark for me. It shows God is there…he provides this visual light for us to remember Him…just as you wrote. It was a beautiful analogy. I am so thankful for His presence. Always.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen. We should be. Thanks for passing by

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love it here!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Suvs says:

    Very nicely written… I used to be afraid of the dark a lot as a child and as I grew up I remember to have read a poem quite similar to yours and that gave me faith that the moon’s light is always there in the dark to guide us 🙂
    Would love if you could check out some of my posts too at https://suvswritings.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Suvs. I will check it out 👍

      Like

  5. parkerg19 says:

    The moon teaches me to smile when tough times come and its always comfort me , thanks of the awesome poem

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice Moony lesson there, Parker. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. parkerg19 says:

        No, problem 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

