Would You Rather #43: Mentally or Physically Never Age? 


(c) aliexpress.com

Ageing is an inevitable part of life. Every second that ticks away is telling us we are a second older than before. Although some people are blessed enough to age gracefully, ageing is more often than not, not pretty. We try to slow the process as much as possible with vigorous dieting and exercise and others go to the extreme by subjecting themselves to surgical procedures just so they look a decade younger. But as much as puberty is inevitable no matter how delayed, so is ageing.

It is amazing how much quickly we wish to grow when we are young so we can live the ‘adult’ life-independent and free and yet wish that time would slow down when we pass the 50th anniversary. Then we try to live like we are in our thirties with the hope that the ageing process would halt and wait for us to enjoy life a little bit longer. Life indeed is too short, isn’t it?

What does physical ageing do to us? Grey hair, weakened muscles and joints, poor eyesight and hearing, allergies to previously enjoyed food, weakened immune system, you name it. Some require tolerable lifestyle changes to be made; others can make living barely bearable. Looking forward to it? I doubt it.

What does mental ageing even mean? It could be defined as the decline in certain mental functions. Unsettling, huh? It’s not all that scary as some functions like vocabulary, some numerical skills and general knowledge would remain intact. But it’s the discomfort of the decline of some aspects of memory, information processing speed, reasoning, multitasking among others is what makes ageing a not-anticipated part of our lifetime.

So what do you find more uncomfortable, not able to walk effortlessly as you used to or not able to remember what you’ve been told within a few minutes? Having to depend on others for movement or conversation would be awkward but I find having to lose the speed to process information or to keep memories more disheartening. What’s the point of living if I feel like I’m losing sense of myself?

Although both are inevitable to an extent, if I were to choose one, I’d choose to rather never mentally age. As much as I wish I could always feel this strong and healthy in my body, I prefer to have a strong mind in a weak body than a weak mind in a strong body. After all, being brain-dead is synonymous to being actually dead, right? Nah, I don’t want that.

What about you? What kind of ageing would you wish you never have to experience and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Lou says:

    This is a great post! I watched both my mother and father age. My mother was as sharp as a tack, mentally up until the age of 91. She had arthritis and joint replacements that slowed her down. My father was slim and physically fit and had a form of dementia. It was sad to watch him age. There’s so much you can do to bring joy into your life if you’re mentally fit.
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’re right, Mary Lou. And thanks for sharing your experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. joymanda says:

    I’m with you on this one

    Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        ✋🏽

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The mind to mature. I love expanding intellect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sure. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Sinawo ☺

      Like

  4. alayinah says:

    I would rather have a strong mind.
    Although a good diet together with reading, writing or learning a new skill at a later age may help improve both physical and mental health for longer.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      True. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Alayinah☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. somawrites says:

    Josey, with you all the way!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jhuls says:

    I’d go with a strong mind, too. It’s true that ageing is inevitable. We can slow it down, but at the end, you’ll get what you’re supposed to. This is a wonderful post. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Jhuls! Have a great week! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I side with you. I’d rather win a chess game with my grand kids than beat them in a race. 😊…Thoughtful post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I like that. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Nana Yaw. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Patricia says:

    Definitely my mind!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ufuomaee says:

    I initialled confused the question of aging with maturity. I would like to grow physically and mentally mature, because one without the other makes you a man in a baby’s body, or a baby in a man’s body! But since you mean aging past maturity, then I would rather stop the clock when I attain my mental processing peak than stop the process of physical aging. I think physical aging is part of the beauty of life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Indeed it is. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ufuomaee. Have a nice day

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’d rather have a strong mind, but I will think the day I give up sports is the day I die 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Aww… You are athletic, huh? That’s nice😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. But why do we have to choose, Josey? Why…

    *whispers* Team strong mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Your whisper is loud and clear, dear😂

      Like

  12. I think i agree, though i throw money at the prevention of physical ageing i would much rather wake up aged 90 and feel 25. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree! Thanks for reading 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  13. It’s a particularly interesting question when a generation of young adults are now suffering degenerated mental health usually associated with the elderly, and when researchers have placed the human brain’s maximum capacity at around 200 years, but we still throw more money into looking younger. Some young people are getting Alzheimer’s, yet so many just want to look pretty and not die until their brain flatlines at 200 years old. I wonder what sort of a state the World will be in when the time comes that everyone can afford plastic surgery and our lives are eked out as long as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… It’s worrying. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. A lot to think about.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Hello, I’m new and having fun discovering interesting posts like yours. I wonder if this was a poll and age of respondents were recorded, if there would be a pattern in answers among younger and older people. Maybe the further in time we move away from memories, the more precious they become. I am in my 30’s and feel blessed to have several mentors who are like grandmothers to me. They believe aging should be valued and physical signs of it honored like badges of experience and survival. My answer to your question is choosing not to mentally age. The book “Tuesdays with Morrie” comes to mind as one man’s account of losing physical control and cherishing mental acuity, and a younger observer’s resulting revelations. Thank you for the thought food, Corina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for sharing your thoughts, Corina. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Hey young lady, as I am a woman in her early forties I am not to concerned about the aging effects of my body, I workout regularly, I eat ok and I want to (God willing) to see my kids have kids. Our bodies are vessels, and vessels get old and die. My mind, my thoughts, the knowledge (I hope that I’m passing on to my sons and grand kids in the future) are also a given that I would prefer to hang on to until His purposes for me here are complete.

    My grandmother before her passing a few years ago told me that she was prayerful in asking the Lord to keep her in her thinking as she aged and He did. And I in turn thanked Him for all the wisdom and stories she imparted and implanted in me.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      So good to know about your grandmother. God does listen to the prayers of His people. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Tahlitha

      Like

      1. You’re welcome young lady!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. DdC says:

    Nice post 👍..never mentally age…been reading up on that, and if you mentally young & think it…repeatedly…well you can also be physically young too…😜

    Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

