Would You Rather #42: Have details of your financial life or love life made public? 


(c) Google Images.

The ordinary person is mindful of his private life and thus is cautious of what details of his life is known to his family, friends and the general public. Celebrities fortunately or unfortunately can’t enjoy the privacy of their affairs-one of the weights of the crown they have to bear. For some, the buzz of personal details is what keeps them relevant and being talked about on the airwaves. For others, it destroys their image and buries their career six feet down. Talk of a double-edged sword.

To the average person on the street, whatever he decides to do with his money or whoever he decides to hook up with is none of anyone’s business. But of course, every society is occupied with some notorious gossips and inquisitive beings who rely on people’s life stories to survive as if it is their oxygen. 

Admittedly, details of one’s love life is juicier news to listen to than that of one’s financial life for those with ticklish ears. Hearing or reading about the cheating scandals of famous people can give one something to talk about and forget one’s own personal troubles for a while. But it would definitely be a living nightmare for those whose lives serve as entertainment dishes for everyone to chew on.

Hearing stories of people’s financial lifestyle is rather helpful. It either urges you on to work harder to live the comfortable kind of life that your mentor or an admired celebrity is enjoying at the moment or it advises you on how to spend and invest your money so you don’t end up broke or in debt like some financially unwise celebrities. 

When you have personal details involving your love life being the topic of discussion in every household, one stands the risk of being judged wrongly. One might have good intentions for dating or marrying another person and may be blindsided by the partner’s horrible flaws only to be branded as emotionally careless or shallow because details of their relationship surfaced into the news. Issues of intimacy and relationships are deeply personal and having details of them floating in public can be emotionally damaging and detrimental to one’s self-esteem. For those who deliberately leak such info so they can trend on social media, well, I may never understand their reasons for choosing to damage themselves to win approval from people who care less about their welfare.

As private as I am, I’d prefer to keep both details of my financial and love life to myself. But if I have to forfeit one, I’d choose the financial details. After all, I don’t plan to do any outrageous spending to attract talk so no one would really bother following up on my financial life. My love life is totally out of bounds. Let everyone mind his own business and we’d have a more peaceful world to live in.

What part of your life do you consider private enough to keep to yourself and which one would you not mind sharing with the public? Why is that? I will love to read your thoughts!

© Josephine Amoako 2016

21 Comments Add yours

  1. I would prefer to keep both private if I have my way. And if I am forced to choose one…*thinking hard* I really do not know…probably my financials would be the one I would take private. Otherwise, I don’t wanna share any please

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Totally understand. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Deb👍

      Liked by 1 person

  2. both are very private…choosing one would mean i never make the choice

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I understand. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Sharon

      Like

  3. somawrites says:

    None…haba! Josey, no go area!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha…. I hear you

      Liked by 1 person

      1. somawrites says:

        Haha… yes o

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Patricia says:

    Well I would prefer to not divulge details of either one. I would have to choose to make my love life public. Even I laugh at that!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Thanks for sharing your thoughts Patty

      Liked by 1 person

  5. LightWriters says:

    Neither…thank you. Hey, good discussion subject, Josey, and how sad that far too many people crave getting into other peoples’ business and pointing out the failures of others…What about helping out people in trouble instead? That approach would sure change the world!! I’m sure you know this story…there was a woman caught in adultery…(John 8: 1-11)…A crowd had surrounded her, ready to stone her to death. I like what Jesus said as came upon this terrible situation: “Whoever among you is without sin (or failure), throw the first stone…” Everyone left…They knew Jesus spoke the truth. Fact: we all fail in life, and in different areas of life. None of us is perfect or ever ‘arrives’ in life. No one has a right to lord it over others or to seek out the shortcomings of others. You’re right, there would be a whole lot more peace in this world without the sin of ‘digging up dirt’ on others…Wow!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      You’re very right. We all falter do we have no authority to judge others for their mistakes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Very much appreciated. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LightWriters says:

        Thanks for your thought-provoking posts, Josey!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Fairen says:

    Love life or lack of lol

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, dear 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Roos Ruse says:

    This is a good question. Aside from learning about better ways to manage any available assets, people’s private lives leave me cold. Etv – not for me! I try to practice the Golden Rule, so I prefer to keep my life private. But you want me to choose… My initial thoughts were my life is too droll to keep anyone awake. But with two former spouses and presently separated from the love of my life for six years now… Hmm. My life history would read like a graphic thriller novel, so perhaps I actually should rethink this. My finances – managing to live as well as I do with such meager means might be interesting. I doubt my methods would catch on, however as they all-consuming. If forced to choose I would go with the latter as there’s so little risk for loss and someone out there might benefit from it. My love life – not so much : D

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Roos. Both aspects should be kept as privately as possible. Having to deal with both can be a headache on its own not to talk of having to deal with public perception of you based on the details floating around. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Roos Ruse says:

    I agree. And yet I’m still thinking about the writing potential in your question. I’ll dedicate the work to you 😀
    Love,
    Roo ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Ufuomaee says:

    I don’t mind my financial status being out in the public…becos they would be bored to tears… Who knows, someone might even open a fund for me so I can splurge a little 🙂 But issues of the heart are to dear to throw before the lions! You may never recover…

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I totally agree. As for the fund, remember me when that door opens for you 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ufuomaee says:

        LOL! But girl… I’ve been missing you at ufuomaee.com. Are we fighting 🙂 no likey on the Church Girl again 😦

        Like

      2. joseyphina says:

        Oh I missed a couple of episodes but I’ve been reading your posts on Facebook. How can we fight? It can never happen, Sis.

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

