Would You Rather #41: Have More Time or More Money? 


(c) interaction-design.org

Who doesn’t wish for more money in his pocket? Maybe the ones who already have too much to spare. But no matter how much one has, the desire to earn more lives on. With money, life gets a little easier, doesn’t it? 

Time: one precious resource that once wasted can never be regained. Every passing second, someone earns a whole lot of money, another loses same. Every minute, someone succeeds at something; another fails yet again. The clock never stops ticking. We sometimes waste time on unnecessary things whiles putting the important things on hold because we assume we would have ample time in the next twenty four hours to get it done. As if tomorrow can make up for the wasted today.

24 hours. Is it enough? Do you sometimes wish there were more hours to a day? Have you ever wondered if you could perhaps achieve more if you had more time to work on it? Sometimes the hours seem to be racing by; you wake up and before you know it, it’s past noon. Do a little this, attend to a little that and dusk falls. And when it gets to the time when we have longer days and shorter nights, we groan complaining of why the day never seems to end and why night disappears the second after we shut our eyes. Ironic, huh? I don’t think anyone would have a tangible excuse for not achieving something just because the time allotted was not enough. We all have 24 hours to spend in a day with limited resources, similar weather conditions and economic situations, but at the end of each day, some people have something to show for the gift of life and others wouldn’t. Would having more time change the outcome? I doubt it.

Money on the other hand seems to be a significant factor in achieving any set goal. Lack of it can stifle plans and its consequent worries can starve you of having creative and innovative ideas on how to expand a business for example. With money at your disposal, any project seems doable. Having enough money offers you the luxury of having things done for you and save you the trouble of having to do everything by yourself. 

I’m comfortable with the 24 hours allotted to me each day. With good planning, self-discipline and consistency, one can achieve much. That’s what makes time valuable. Thus, I’d rather choose more money because earning a decent amount can guarantee you a decent living. And who wouldn’t want that?

Which resource would you rather have more of and why? Kindly share your thoughts.
© Josephine Amoako 2016

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Papberry says:

    I would go with more money too then manage my 24hrs properly…after all it is when you have less money that you want more times to get more of it😅.my thoughts though!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Exactly my point. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, dear

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Papberry says:

        My pleasure😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ferddhie says:

    I want to live forever. I guess you have my answer.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yep, I got it👍. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. nancyongom says:

    I think I would go with money too. Coz God has already given us the gift of free life and time as well. But when it comes to money you will definitely have to work hard so why not ask for more money and live a better life.☺
    Nice post .

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Nancy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nancyongom says:

        You’re welcome dear.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackie Jain says:

    You have very well explained the concept of time and money. Well written. Nice points you have covered here.

    They both are necessary for a beautiful life. More money, no time = No life. And on the other hand, More time, less money = Not livable. The problem is that nowadays people follow a trend, time is money, which is not true to its roots. Money can be earned back, time cannot.

    Have a great time. Nice post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with your line of thought. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jackie.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jackie Jain says:

        Thanks! Have a great day. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Innervoice says:

    A really good post! It got me thinking. Rather than choosing one, I would go with the saying, ‘Time is Money!’. Both are equally precious and no matter how much or little you have, if spent or invested wisely it can lead to a fulsome life!
    Have a great day!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ufuomaee says:

    I’m with you on this 🙂 I’d rather accomplish more with the time I have and go back to my Father, than live a pro-longed life with few resources to make any sizeable impact.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Elorm says:

    Lol more money! I can manage my time properly and increase my productivity per day if I try so more money would be my choice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree👍. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      Liked by 2 people

  8. LightWriters says:

    oh wow, great question. I have to say I would happily receive BOTH as a great DOUBLE blessing of God, for has He not promised all who trust in Him the following amazing gifts in this life…? It really doesn’t get any better that this… “…with long life will I satisfy you and show you my salvation (Psalm 91:16) and…”Beloved, I wish above all else that you will be blessed with prosperity and be in good health even as your soul also prospers!” (3 John 1:2) 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Indeed, they are both blessings from God. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ismath (Ism) says:

    Josephina,I have nominated you for One lovely blog award , if you wish to accept it then please do check my post 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Ism ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  10. lol, more money, hands down

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Nicky M says:

    Interesting thoughts! I mentioned you on my blog today https://theshimmerwithinher.com/2016/07/26/little-miss-sunshine/ 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Money is better, money can buy time: at least recruiting people to make the limited time on your path worthwhile with amazing results

    Liked by 3 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, interesting perspective. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Roos Ruse says:

    As did my parents, naked I came into the world and naked I shall leave it. I’m thankful for my life. I would like to leave more to my sons and grands than my stories, and I’m very okay if that’s God’s plan. Even so, I can imagine what great things they would do in the world with a little extra help :> Great thought provoking post, Josephine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Roos for sharing your insight.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. When I read your question which would I rather have more of the first thing I thought of was my bills and thought money, then I thought about my relationships, friends, and family, and thought about time. Both are necessities to me. I have to pay my bills, but that is just survival. My relationships are alive and to keep them living they need tending to which requires time. So my final answer will be time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice way to look at it! Thanks for sharing your perspective, Julie☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

