For Family’s Sake? 


(c) Google Images.

The world we live in is cruel; no need to mince words. People don’t see others as humans with feelings and blood flowing through their veins anymore. All they see is a bargaining chip, a loose end, a wild card, a target. But even if friends would betray us, our family should protect us from being preys, right? So who do we turn to when our own flesh and blood opts to sell us out for their benefit?

Vicky has finished senior high school awaiting her results. Knowing the family’s financial situation and the ever-increasing cost of tertiary education, she decided to find some work to do in order to gather some funds which could at least cover her living expenses. After sending out some applications and hearing no feedback from them, she decided to help out her sister at her retail store. 

Janet her sister, was more than glad to have the extra pair of hands to assist her. She told Vicky how her two former assistants had all stolen from her countless times. She knew she could trust her sister with the sales and that she would be more selfless in her work. Vicky assured her she’d do her very best.

And that she did. She would wake up early in the morning, open the store, clean up and organize the space for business. Due to her amiable nature, she won over many new clients who later became frequent and loyal patrons. Janet showed her appreciation by upping her allowance regularly. Vicky was relieved that Janet wasn’t showing any signs of jealousy over the attention some clients paid her. 

But there was this one ‘associate’ of Janet’s that Vicky felt uncomfortable around. He would always look at her in a funny way and when she told her sister about it, she brushed it aside saying he was silly like that. There was nothing to be worried about.  It got to a time that this creepy man frequented the store more than usual. After one heated conversation, Vicky noticed Janet was moody. After probing her for a while, Janet confided in her about some money she owed him for some supplies lent to her. He was demanding the payback two weeks prior to their agreed date because he claimed he needed the money to clear some shipment from the port. 

Vicky offered to lend her the money she had saved to help her pay him off but she said it would be less than enough. But he was requesting for something else to defray the cost. Okay, what was it? If Vicky would agree to spend a night with him, then he’d let her pay only half of what she owed him on their initially agreed date. 

“Is he serious? Do I look like a prostitute to him? Isn’t he old enough to be my uncle? This shows he has no good intentions towards you, Janet. We’ll find the amount and cut all ties with him!” “But he’s the only one who supplies me the best product at the best price. I’ve worked with him for quite a while and his supplies are of good quality. Why don’t you consider this, Vick? He’ll slash my debt by half!”

Vicky couldn’t believe her ears. Was her sister actually considering his offer?

“Are you selling me out to pay off your debt?” 

“This is family business, Vick. We do what we need to do to survive. If I hadn’t given you the opportunity to come work with me, you wouldn’t have earned what you’ve got right now. I promised to help you with your fees, didn’t I? Just do this one time and I promise I’ll see you through school. Just once.” 

“Once? If I do this, there is no turning back. I’ll be your discount ticket.” 

“I’d do it for you.” 

“Why don’t you sleep with him instead? It’s your store, your debt.”

“It’s you he wants.” 

“Did you even consider offering yourself in my place?” “You know I’m seeing someone.” 

“I’m disappointed that you even entertained the thought. Mummy raised us better than that. I’m not playing prostitute not even for you.”

 Janet’s attitude toward Vicky changed from that moment. She wouldn’t talk to her and started downsizing her allowance with the excuse that business was bad but they both knew sales had been very good. Vicky decided to let it go since she knew Janet had to gather funds to pay off her associate. Then it escalated to name-calling with the least provocation. She would even resort to misquoting Scripture to spite her. 

“Jesus even said what you didn’t do for your neighbor, you didn’t do it for Me.” “My body is the temple of God and I won’t defile it for discount,” Vicky replied.

“Then go to the convent and be a nun!”

The situation grew worse and it ended with a sit-down session with their mother. She was a petty trader and she wasn’t earning much to support herself and their two younger siblings. Vicky reported the issue to her so she would settle the case once and for all.

“I know you go to church and you go to about evangelizing and all that but we also need to do whatever it takes to survive,” she started. What was she driving at? 

“Normally I wouldn’t advise it but it’s your sister’s allowance that has been sustaining us since your father passed. I’m sure God will understand. You’re always telling me He’s merciful, right? Just go to church and pray for forgiveness after you’re done. You won’t go to hell.” 

“What?!” Did some zombie bite their mother?

“That’s what I’ve been trying to tell her, mama. It’s just once. It’s better to give it up for a good cause like your family’s welfare than to some useless guy you’ll meet at the university.” 

“I plan to abstain till marriage.” 

“Will your pastor give us the money to pay him off? If he does, we’ll all come to church and clean up the premises to say thank you.” 

“I’m not going to stoop so low for a man like him. I’m better than that.” 

“Then I hope your abstinence will sponsor your education,” Janet said. Ha, the threat was finally verbalized.

“After all the help I’ve given you at the store?” 

“Which I’ve paid you for, haven’t I? Looking at him, I don’t think it will take more than ten minutes to seal the deal. Be considerate.” 

“No!” 

“Ei, what sort of Christian are you, so hard-hearted?” Her mother asked.
Help a sister out. She doesn’t want to compromise on her moral standards and she really wants to continue her education so she can become the nurse she always dreamed to be. With her family ready to sell her out, who should she run to?
© Josephine Amoako 2016

29 Comments Add yours

  1. You write so very well…this is provocative and intriguing and sad….she should turn to God, as it is obvious that her family cannot be trusted…His love is unconditional 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, only God can see her through. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. Happy weekend!

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Wow. That’s one hell of a predicament but not one I haven’t seen firsthand. The girls usually ended up in relationships with those men, more for the money and status than anything else.

    I had similar offers as a teen in college, but knew better. My mom had lost her job, and I had only just started. I was only 16, so I wasn’t quite legal age to get a proper job for myself. I used my writing to make extra money to pay what I had until mom became re-employed again. I even considered dropping out. But it didn’t come to that.

    For the record, I’m an agnostic/atheist. I respect your beliefs, but I saw myself through this one. We all have a moral compass. God isn’t the only one pointing in the right direction…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Alexis. I appreciate that

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LightWriters says:

    A powerful story…anyone’s morals can fail them in times of fear or trouble. This is a sad report, because it reminds us how vulnerable or desperate people are very easily ensnared into doing and thinking wrong —whether they are a believer in God or not. This is the state of our world without God’s saving grace. May we ever turn to the Lord who promises He is a ‘very present help’ in times of trouble.Psalm 46:1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen. Thanks for commenting

      Like

  4. You are such a wonderful writer. I was tuned into this story from the start. I cannot wait to see what choice Vicky makes next, hopefully she sticks to her guns and figures out a way out from her scheming mother and sister. Awesome work!

    https://thecontemporaryedition.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading

      Like

  5. joymanda says:

    This is amazing. Ei. She should stick to her decision. This is God we’re talking about here, he never fails. She’ll receive help without even knowing it. God is still in the miracle business 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, God never runs out if miracles to perform for His people. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Mandy

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  6. joymanda says:

    This is amazing. Ei. She should stick to her decision. This is God we’re talking about here, He never fails. He won’t put her to shame. She’ll receive help without even knowing it. God is still in the miracle business 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow. Funny thing is, I know things like this happen in real life. If she decides to sleep with him, I’m willing to bet it won’t be the last time. She might either continue with him (for money) or with someone else.

    Good piece!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it does happen. Thanks for reading, Sika ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. gislyreal says:

    Compromise is a path to be watched by all

    Liked by 1 person

  9. vhuvu says:

    Moving out. Literally. The man can kill my sister for all I care. Even break her legs if he wants. I’m sorry I was born in an Era of family can kill you if you give them your back. I don’t trust family and I’m willing to walk away from them if push comes to shove. It’s that bad in life. That lady is better off staying in a church. Literally. Prayer will help but with evil family like that move out and leave town.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with you, sister

      Liked by 1 person

  10. mimispassion says:

    Wow, this is utterly unbelievable. How much money at all is it that both mom and sister are willing to sell he very soul of their daughter. There’s nowhere else to look to except to God, He’s a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him. He’ll surely make a way for her

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Powerful story. I have been saying for years that Jesus is the only one wecan rely on. I habefelt as.though people.looked at me askance at times and felt sorry for me becasue I didn’t have a good family life or I had npt made good friend.choices. When what I have been saying and being taught by the Holy Spirit is God is the sustainer of life the provider, people are just additions to our life to learn more about Him. Thanks for posting. This was great for confirmation and reflection.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True, God is the sustainer of life. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  12. The ultimate family betrayal , I know too well. Knowing the difference between right and wrong can often break a family unit but doing the ” right” thing is more important for self and morals going forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I totally agree with you. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  13. Wow, God is our source of survival

    Liked by 1 person

  14. houseofrogue says:

    That’s one beautiful post! I’m working on a piece about family at the moment and it’s good to get some inspiration from other blogs. It’s lovely and I really enjoy reading your work! Happy holidays 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading! Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you as well☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

