Would You Rather #38: Be able to take back anything you say or hear every conversation around you? 


(c) Google Images

The words we say are pretty powerful. They can cement a relationship or terminate it permanently. Words constructed carefully can soothe an aching soul; words spewed out carelessly can damage your reputation and diminish your respect in the eyes of someone you consider significant which are the least repercussion of its ripple effects.

The words we speak once out of the lips cannot be taken back just like when some text or info is sent via social media. Once it is sent, we lose control of it. One can delete the comment almost instantly but you can’t be absolutely sure that no one read it first. Some people are sensible enough to take a breather to read over whatever they wish to share with the world and edit appropriately before hitting ‘post’ or ‘publish.’ I wonder why some people don’t exercise this same amount of restraint before talking.

If we could really take back anything we could say, I’m sure most people would love that. They would be able to undo many mistakes made in the past and since hindsight is always better, they would tow the better line. As much good as that sounds, I’m also grateful that that option isn’t available. Because this would make me cautious of whatever I say regardless of the mood I am in. If I can take back anything I say, then I can consciously say something hurtful because I feel like it at the moment and take it back as if nothing happened. There would be no need for self-control when it comes to wagging the tongue.

(c) pinterest.com

As for hearing conversations around me, I don’t really care for that. The fact that people are talking around you doesn’t necessarily mean they are talking about you. And some conversations are not even worth eavesdropping in. Since I’m not a gossip, I don’t need to hear what is being said around me. I am satisfied with the selective hearing function my ears are performing. Many people talk too much about nothing.

So if I am to choose between the two, I think I’d go for being able to take back what I say. As human as we are, we are all bound to slip at one point no matter how conscious we are of ourselves. Some things are better left unsaid and some others should be said in a refined way. Having to hear conversations around and about you can become a headache; one which can avoided to an extent.

Let me know what you think. Which one would you rather be able to do and why? Love to read your thoughts.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. gislyreal says:

    It’s tricky . If you hear all you might say something and want to take some back. I,m on the bridge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I hear you

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ufuomaee says:

    I’m with you on this 100%. I don’t care for either, but being able to take back hurtful words is preferrably to hearing all the rubbish people are talking! Like too much info abeg 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Thanks for sharing your thoughts and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony Michele says:

    Hmmm. I like the taste your words quote. There’sthis quote about letting one’s words taste mercy before they are spit out.

    Words are powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Indeed they are. Thanks for reading, Tony

      Like

  4. piratepatty says:

    100 percent take it back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Patty

      Liked by 1 person

  5. themrrodge says:

    I would rather take back something I said. Sometimes we say things in the heat of the moment which may be better left unsaid.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mr Rodge

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Take back something I said.
    For one thing, I speak without thinking a lot of the time, and I’m kind of cynical. No- not kind of- really.
    Plus, if someone says something behind your back, there’s a reason they said it behind your back, so who cares! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t want to take back anything I say neither do I want to hear conversations around me. Eavesdropping is tiring…it would be awful if you could take back what you say…so insincere. It’s nice when you have to learn to control your tongue. I hardly ever say – I didn’t mean it cos I did. I respect people who speak their mind and never take -I didn’t mean to say that- as an excuse. I totally distrust anyone who keeps saying – it was a slip of tongue-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, the slip of tongue is mostly an excuse people use so they don’t take much responsibility for their loose words. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. joymanda says:

    Take back my words. Hearing what others say about me will do me no good. I might end up being bitter kraa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah I know, right? No space for bitterness in our hearts

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        Exactly

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Felicia says:

    Yay! This is back! I don’t really know. Maybe hear things. As a speaker and someone who likes leadership roles, hearing is important. As far as take backs, my philosophy is never to go backwards in life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice… Interesting perspective. Thanks for sharing, Felicia!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. hitebook.net says:

    I would rather take back something I said.  Would You Rather be able to Take Back Anything you say or Hear Every Conversation Around You […]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

