Fence


(c) Google Images.

#DailyPost

I’m building myself a fence;

Not because I want to keep others out;

But because I want to keep myself

Within my bubble;

People and situations like to

Punch holes into my ‘containment’ bubble;

Some tried and succeeded;

Which took me days and months;

To patch up my bubble;

But now I need a fence;

So I can control

Who walks in and out;

What sentiments I hold on to;

And which ones I forbid proximity;

People like to jump in;

 And be part of the ‘action’;

Even if it’s self-destructive or unprofitable;

Why, because everyone is doing it;

I’d rather sit on my fence;

And wait for my time;

After all, everyone has his own race to run;

I’m in competition with only myself;

Hoping to be better today;

Than I was yesterday;

Just as the Word tells me;

To guard my heart with all diligence;

As out of it comes the issues of life;

I’ll build myself a fence;

Which will filter out;

 What should influence me and what shouldn’t;

Again the Word tells me:

The race is not for the swift;

Nor the battle for the mighty;

But it’s God who shows mercy;

I’ll start my race at His mark;

And I will stop when He blows the whistle;

I don’t mind waiting on the fence;

As long as He’s sitting with me;

Whatever fence you may have for yourself;

Be it to safeguard yourself from negative influence;

Or to sit down on waiting in the hallway;

For your next door to open;

Be sure it’s for a good cause;

To keep you calm in the midst of the storm;

Or preparing you for the next race;

Keep your eyes on the goal;

Fulfilling the destiny;

God created you for.

© Josephine Amoako 2016


8 Comments Add yours

  1. Friend, Break every chain that is binding you, let your faith move them aside and you prepare the way for the Lord. May you accept Jesus Christ deeper and deeper every single moment. Until then that you do not a fence, anymore. God Bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thatssojacob says:

    Joseyphina – the results of my June blog experiment are up on my blog; you’re there, check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for the opportunity to check out new blogs!

      Like

  3. kimlhine says:

    Reblogged this on Kim L Hine and commented:
    I just love this blog post by Joseyphina.

    I have built fences too. To keep negative out and keep my sacred spaces mine, free of dramas and bad feelings. I can so relate to this post. To quote Joseyphina ” I’ll build myself a fence which will filter out what should influence me and what shouldn’t”

    Read Joseyphina’s post.. Can you relate?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gislyreal says:

    Reblogged this on Real About Life and commented:
    I compete only with myself

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loluwaand says:

    Thank you for the follow

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      My pleasure ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

