Embarrass Me Not


image
(c) Google Images.

#DailyPost

I know I’m not perfect;

May have more flaws;

Than most people;

There’s no need;

Letting everyone know;

To make me feel bad;

Don’t think it’s funny;

Because others laugh;

Don’t call it a harmless tease;

So I would lighten up;

Cause all it does;

Is make me want

To coil up even more;

It’s hard dealing

With my insecurities;

 I don’t need you

Giving it a voice;

 And a podium

To announce them;

Don’t crucify me

In public as payback for

Some wrong I may have done you;

When I said ‘sorry’;

And you said, ‘it’s okay’;

I believed you meant it;

I’d have wished that

Your aye be aye;

And your nay be nay;

There’s a thin line;

Between pulling my legs;

And abashing me knowingly;

It’s mean;

In fact it’s nothing short

Of ‘platonic treason’;

I know you’re good

At keeping boundaries;

This thin line;

Should be broad enough;

To find the stop sign;

I don’t like to

 Embarrass you my dear friend;

Because I feel the discomfort;

When you do;

I only hoped;

You’d feel same with me;

But I won’t hold any grudges;

Just need your word;

That you wouldn’t do that again;

And I hope;

And I know;

That the last time;

Would indeed be the last.

Your friend,

J.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. gislyreal says:

    It is funny how we can embarrass people without knowing in the name of correcting them

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right?

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

