Circus


image
(c) pinterest.com

#DailyPost

The fab life you idolize;

Is nothing short of a sham;

Scripted and customized 

For your viewing pleasure;

From the glamorous look

To the dashing smiles 

On the red carpet;

All have been rehearsed

To create the perfect illusion;

With every wave 

To the cheering crowd;

I wish someone would

Come whisk me away

From my self-made cell;

With ever selfie taken with me;

I hope someone 

Would pray for me;

With every autograph;

I inscribe with a bleeding heart.

 

Every day is a reality show;

Where my every moment 

Should be fun to watch,

 Read and talk about;

I am paired 

With whomever 

It is believed suits me best;

Hand in hand;

Going shopping

And taking a stroll

To show the world

I’m happy;

Just a temporary fix

 For my loneliness;

And when the façade

Runs out of juice;

The ‘split’ is arranged;

To be mutually beneficial

To both parties;

To keep us trending;

Relevant, they call it.

 

It’s a circus;

 The kind of life I live;

Paid to entertain strangers;

Many of whom 

I might never meet;

And don’t really care about me;

But you watching 

Reading and discussing me

On the other side

Know better;

Life isn’t all fun 

Like a circus;

It’s not all glam;

With bling 

And cute pets;

It’s a jungle;

Where you strive to survive

Without any cover up;

 

The screens make

Breakup seem easy;

But you know better;

It hurts and changes you;

The news make

Rehab centers feel cool;

Like they are vacation spots;

But you know;

How addiction sucks;

But it’s the life

I signed up for;

When I chose fame;

To make my life a circus

For your entertainment;

Just don’t laugh over it;

Tell your talented kids;

There’s more to life

Than the spotlight;

Don’t push them into it;

But teach them 

To know life’s true worth;

So they don’t lose themselves;

When they find themselves

 In my shoes;

It may only be

A circus to you;

But it is my life.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jorcil says:

    Bless you for this

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen. God bless you too Jorcil for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ORAY says:

    I love

    Liked by 1 person

  3. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    Awwww

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ufuomaee says:

    A very thought provoking piece. Many of us think the best thing that can happen to us would be to become famous. But it could certainly be the worst too! Nice one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, very true. It’s all about managing oneself well. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

