Blank Space


image
(c) Google Images.

#DailyPost

I came into the world blank;

Knowing and feeling nothing

Except the pain of breathing on my own for the first time;

But the pain subsided when I felt

The warmth of my mother’s bosom;

I opened my eyes and the first thing

I saw was love.

 

Love was the first thing inscribed

On the blank space of my heart and mind;

Thanks to family and family friends;

Then I went to school 

And the life I knew it to be changed.

After being bullied over and over,

Fear and low self-esteem 

Was carved on the once blank space.

 

 Then I fell in love the first time;

And the love I once felt in my heart

Graduated to a much deeper level;

I could sense the fear being erased away;

I was finding myself again;

But like many others;

I wasn’t lucky the first time;

My first love left me

Bleeding with hurt and betrayal

Etched deeply in me;

The low esteem which had disappeared

Re-emerged in permanent ink.

 

I travelled overseas to start over;

Hoping that would grant me

Another blank space;

But I just carried them over;

Buried deep under the front layer;

Instead of love and acceptance;

I was met with disdain;

Because I was not considered as one of them;

Another skin color, accent and nationality

Disqualified me of feeling belonged.

Low esteem grew into inferiority complex.

 

Broken and crumpled inside;

I came back home 

To face my demons once and for all;

After facing discrimination at work;

I became a total mess;

Having all the wrong things written on me;

Not even my family’s love could heal me;

 I needed something more,

Something greater.

 

Then I encountered Him;

Who is able to take away all pain;

And wipe away every tear;

He made me new;

I was born again;

With a brand new slate;

He filled my heart with 

Deeper love than I’ve ever known;

All fear vanished;

And was blessed with a sound mind;

My blank slate was inscribed with

Peace, joy, hope, forgiveness;

Patience, goodness and self-control;

 

I thank God for a second chance;

To have my blank space rewritten;

If it weren’t for Him;

I’d have died out despair;

Without knowing what true love was;

Are you looking for someone

To clean up your messed up slate?

Come to Jesus;

He makes all things new.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

9 Comments Add yours

  1. mimispassion says:

    The God of new beginning

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That He is! 👐

      Liked by 1 person

  2. moniquefille says:

    He’s a life changer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, dear☺

      Like

  3. Wow!
    I really enjoyed this!
    Check out my blog when you get the chance 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks! I surely will! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

