Would You Rather #34: Meet Your President or a Movie Star?


image
(c) Google Images.

Depending on what your interests are, I’m sure there are people we wish we could meet in our lifetime. Why, because they inspire us to reach the milestone they have attained and even surpass it. Or maybe the ideals they stand and fight for have transformed and continue to transform the society for our benefit and that of posterity.


A person’s desire to meet a President may be of two reasons: out of admiration or disdain. Most people are dissatisfied with the leaders of their countries because of how they are handling the nation’s resources and oppressing their citizens to their benefit. But there are some others who are trying to undo the damage their predecessors did and build a better society and their people can appreciate their efforts. Some people dream of meeting their Presidents so they can draw from the well of wisdom their leaders possess. Others wish they could meet them so they can hit them hard…literally.

image
(c) Google Images.

I come from a country where the people are not that obsessed with their movie stars: waiting outside just so as to catch a glimpse of them and possibly get an autograph. I know some people even go to the extent of tattooing their names and faces on their bodies…that’s a pretty extensive way of showing one’s admiration for a star; one I’m not sure Ghanaians would do. For the youth aspiring to walk in their shoes someday, they might want to meet them so they can tell them firsthand how they broke into the industry and the pitfalls they need to avoid. For others, they just wish they could spend a day to have a taste of their fab life.

image

Why would I want to meet my President? To ask him if he thinks he has fulfilled his mandate with the abundant resources at his disposal or tell him the real situation on the ground in contrast to the almost-perfect picture he paints anytime he mounts a podium? I don’t think so. Why, a total waste of my time. Most people have and I still don’t see any significant change happening.

image

A movie star? Well, because I love movies and TV series and these actors bring to life the scripts of writers (I can’t wait for mine to come to life on the big screens!), I might want to meet one to find out what they look for in a script and why they would choose one over the other. I need all the info there is to be able to write the kind of script every movie star would love to act out.

If it could be granted you, which of these two personalities would you want to meet and why? Kindly share your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

23 Comments Add yours

  1. wgr56 says:

    Well, I think it very much depends on the which movie star and which president. I’d love to meet our current president — Barack Obama — but the previous one, not so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, of course. Some movie stars are not worth meeting and unfortunately, not all presidents. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Have a great week.

      Like

  2. I would desire to meet the President. I was fortunate to have this experience of meeting him and seeing him twice in person. The conversation was brief, but it leave a lifetime of memories. I have a photograph of my opportunity that will remain priceless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Aww… Good for you! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. piratepatty says:

    The President! So many questions..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      How I wish I could make that happen for you, Patty. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. piratepatty says:

        I entered a drawing to meet him, so we shall see!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Oh you did? Then I pray you win! 👐

        Liked by 1 person

  4. hmm… honestly, i think i’d rather meet the president considering i’m not into movies very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ufuomaee says:

    Movie star abeg!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I understand 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for adding your thoughts, Sinawo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Well we have a prime minister, not a president. But if I was to choose between our prime minister and a movie star in America, I’d choose the movie star any day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Millie! And thanks for the follow!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I would certainly prefer meeting a president or any influential leader in the world and time and any day one a celebrity.

    Whilst I appreciate that what celebrities do is also Their gift and talents, I am very passionate about leadership and advancing the youth and women in busines and leadership. Another great post from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Your passion is admirable. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this issue.

      Like

  8. Current President, I would run the other way as fast as I could. Former yes, I admire him very much. I am a movie lover, so that would be tough. If I meet one, I would like him to be single.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Have a TV crush, huh?

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I have a lot of crushes. Obama was cool and had grace, class, humility a sense of humor and is smart. All desirable qualities,

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

