Would You Rather #32: Have dinner with a headstrong politician from the opposing party or attend a concert of a music group you detest?


image

Disclaimer: I’d do my very best to avoid being stuck in either situations. Why, politics is the last reason I’d have to agree to dine with anyone just to hear him rant on why the opposition party is the worst thing that happened to my country without offering any laudable alternatives. And if I detest a music group, what business do I have being at their concert?


For me to consider a party as an opposition, it must be either I don’t agree with their ideologies or the experience of them being in power some time back was so terrible that I wouldn’t wish them to ever return as long as I live. So to be stuck with a headstrong politician from that party for hours sounds like mental torture to me. Imagining myself at such a setting, it definitely wouldn’t end well considering how provocative and condescending their words can be. I might be tempted to either splash my drink or throw my food at him or surprise myself by saying something unsavory to him. I am not the aggressive type but just listening to them on TV and on radio makes my blood boil so having a rep sitting across me or next to is too close for comfort. I can’t promise to control myself.

image
(c) Google Images.

On the flip side, I love music and though not all artistes and groups would fall into my favorite list but it so happens that I might like one or a couple of my least favorite musician’s songs. Although I’d find it a complete waste of my time attending a concert of a group I’m no fan of, it is possible that I might find one or two of their performances worth nodding my head to. For me to ‘despise’ a music group, it must be because they are way too loud for my ears, are profane with their lyrics, have offensive videos or just produce senseless music, period.

If it were to be a least favorite group, I might choose that over dinner with a politician anytime any day but to listen to a group I categorically detest, I’m tempted to consider the dinner because at least I can choose to tune out the voice and just enjoy the meal. And I’m sure I wouldn’t be the one paying! To make it worth my while, maybe I could engage him in an intellectual discourse (though I doubt the interaction would tickle my intellectual nerves but I can try, right?). He could clear my mind on certain issues and he might listen to my concerns and consider them in their policy plans if they get into power (I have my doubts about that as well).

So, which uncomfortable scenario would you consider as less terrible and why? Would love to read your thoughts.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Felicia says:

    Can you finish the title, please, I’m missing the other half of the would you rather😊

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Um… Just click on the link. You’ll find the full title.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Liam says:

    Guess it depends on who’s paying? I could live with free dinner or free tickets. Probably leaning toward the concert either way. I can tune out the music & hang at the bar or something.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Well yeah, that also works. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Liam👍

      Like

  3. Caryn Emme says:

    Definitely the dinner. I’m pretty good at tuning out obnoxious people and it’ll probably be a good meal. Conversations can be had with friendly waitstaff and diners nearby, also periodic washroom breaks will help. A concert is loud and one cannot escape. Fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Caryn. Appreciate it☺

      Like

  4. piratepatty says:

    I would take the dinner. I love a good debate and I despise crowds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s my Pirate! ✋Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Patty. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d go to the concert, I’ll give any music a try and I enjoy dissecting it either to find what makes it good or what makes it bad. I have no interest in politicians whatsoever especially those who have inflated egos and views I don’t agree with…no thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Serena. Really appreciate it☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I will choose the dinner option. That will afford me the chance to ask the questions I have always wanted to ask.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Victor 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ufuomaee says:

    The dinner would be preferable. I’m guessing free food…plus I’m quite good at tuning out people I disagree with. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I feel you, sister ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. With the poliyibian since there’ll be food hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I agree

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

