Borrowed


image

#DailyPost

Remember when I said you could have my heart forever?
I lied;

You can only borrow it…for a while;

As long as I deem it worth my while;

And now I’m back to collect;

Because you just run out of time and chances;

Remember when you promised you’d never hurt me?

You lied;

My heart ached…over and over again;

Before I handed my heart over;

I asked you to cherish like an egg;

But you kicked it hard like a ball in play;

Remember when I said you were the best thing that happened to me?

I lied;

I thought you were till I realized I deserved better;

Just as money borrowed is paid back with interest;

I don’t just need my heart back;

I wished yours would change as well.

Remember when you said we were meant to be?
You lied;

Exciting it was at the start;

But stale it grew when the fizziness run out;

We both knew we were on borrowed time;

And now time is up.

Give me back my heart;

And I will give back yours;

But wait, you’ve already snatched yours away;

So why are you still holding on to mine?

Don’t stab or squeeze it any longer;

A heart borrowed isn’t yours to keep.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Seb Dani says:

    Lovely post Josephine! Very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for reading, Seb ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Seb Dani says:

        Always a pleasure, Josephine!😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Caryn Emme says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing and giving lots of people who are in pain a voice and perhaps even the nudge to take control of their lives once again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Caryn☺

      Like

  3. Interesting piece. Thanks for the time to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read this piece. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Have a great week! ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

