Stroll


image
(c) Google Images.

#DailyPost

Took a stroll the other day;

Hoping to clear my chaotic mind for a while;

Deliberately took in the view I had never paid attention to;

Enjoyed the breeze I always took for granted;

And just got lost in the moment.

Waving greetings to the old and young alike;

I realized my neighbors are actually nicer than I thought;

Without paying it much attention;

I found myself covering much more distance than I planned to;

By worrying about nothing; I could think about anything!

I now see that faster doesn’t always mean better;

A steady focus in a right direction is way better than a rushed path to nowhere;

Just as an apple a day keeps the doctor away;

So does a stroll once in a while, keep the mind refreshed;

A little retreat is the perfect prep up for a sprint ahead.

Life is not that complicated, we make it so;

By holding on to things and people we know we have to let go;

By choosing to blend in instead of standing out;

For making permanent decisions based on temporary circumstances;

We entangle ourselves in our self-made web.

When you find yourself caught up in life’s hustle and bustle;

Running helter-skelter so as to keep up with its insatiable demands;

And you find yourself out of breath and your thoughts out of order;

Maybe it’s time to take a stroll;

You’d be surprised how much clarity you’d get.

 

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Sparkyjen says:

    Yes, if you find yourself running “helter-skelter,” it’s definitely time to take a stroll. I can’t imagine what a person’s mind would be entangled with running on this phase. A stroll may not be enough! Just Breathe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, that too👍

      Like

  2. IshmaImroz says:

    the stroll that eases your pain!!! ❤ Nice one

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jorcil says:

    I like this 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you do ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Patricia says:

    I did this just today. Felt good!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kmankata says:

    This is me many times when I’m blocked. I’ve completed many manuscripts by taking a stroll. This is me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know! ✋

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

