Reflections on the A to Z Challenge ’16

on

image

#AtoZchallenge
So the month-long blogging marathon known as the A to Z challenge ended about a week ago and participants are expected to write their reflections about it. First of all, I’m glad to have to have put my fears aside and gathered the courage to sign up for it. It was a challenge and I’m glad I survived!


It wasn’t an easy task; having to come up with post every day and finding the appropriate word for each alphabet as a theme. I had planned to prepare the posts beforehand but I could only write two out of the twenty six. When the challenge began, I wondered if I would be able to make it. I have been pretty consistent with my posts this year but this was different. There was no expectation to post every single day as the challenge demanded. But you can only see if you can be successful after you’ve tried, right?

So day by day, step by step, I wrote and posted. The feedback was encouraging and that really spurred me on. Sometimes, my mind was so exhausted and blank that I sometimes had to pause midway in the writing to sleep and wake up in the early hours of the morning to finish it up. Where there’s a will, there’s always a way.

The A to Z challenge really taught me a lot. It taught me how to be disciplined in any project I’ve set for myself. Before I took part, I used to blame my inability to write at certain times on writers’ block. Writers’ block does occur but I’ve realized that as long as you’ve made up your mind that you will produce a post every 24 hours, your mind and body will conform. It’s all about tenacity. I’ve discovered that writers’ block can be beaten; but throughout the years, I’ve also come to appreciate the need to give the brain some time to rest and reorganize the thoughts and ideas floating in it. So if I don’t write for some time, it is because I have decided not to so as to give my mind some breathing space and not because I can’t.

Thanks to the challenge, I discovered a lot of blogs from different countries and continents and that was a huge bonus. I hope to find yet many more so as to learn about other cultures through their write-ups. It is for this reason that I’m ever grateful to WordPress community for the opportunity to interact with writers and readers around the globe.

For those who were unable to partake in it for one reason or the other, I hope my experience has inspired to join in next year, God willing. I’d really be excited if most of top interactors take part next year. It would really be fun. School, work and home demands can get in the way so you can start preparing from now. A random post once in a while saved in a folder toward the challenge would go a long way to ease the pressure when the challenge is due.

I want to take the opportunity to once again thank all the loyal readers who followed, liked and commented on my posts during the challenge. You have no idea how encouraging that was. May God bless you all and come next year God willing, I hope to read your posts on the A to Z challenge! It would really make the experience more enriching.

Wishing you all the best this month. May God be with us all.

© Josephine Amoako 2016 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Ufuomaee says:

    Hey dear… Well done! I had too much on my mind to take on the challenge but you inspired me.

    By the way… you said: ” A random post once in a while saved in a folder toward the challenge would go a long way to ease the pressure when the challenge is due.”

    Isn’t that cheating?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh no, the organizers actually encourage us to start preparing from now. It gives you ample time to write good posts for it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ufuomaee says:

        Ok cool 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. claowue says:

    Congrats for Finishing April successfully. I read that the links to the partipicitating blogs will be online throughout the year, so reading and commenting isn’t over yet 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, that’s very good!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A to Z teaches a lot to us all.. Always… when at one place we get to read so many thoughts regarding various topics.. we tend to learn more and more..
    Congratulations for completing the challenge…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks and congratulations to you as well ☺

      Like

  4. Arlee Bird says:

    I really enjoyed reading this Reflections post. You really went through the process for someone who’s never been there. Nice job and thank you for sharing this with us.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by, Arlene. I really enjoyed the challenge. Big ups to your team👍

      Like

  5. kmankata says:

    Inspiring. Partaking next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yay! Good to know! 🙌

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

