Abandoned


image

#DailyPost

For those who turned their backs on me;
Vanished when I needed them the most;
Left me when I needed them to stand;
Stood me up when they were to cheer me on;
Ignored me when I called out for them;
Betrayed my trust when I was most vulnerable;
I thank you for abandoning me.


I’m glad you bolted the time you did;
So you wouldn’t be part of my present journey;
When you thought you were breaking me down;
You were actually doing me a favor;
You taught me how to stand on my own;
To trust myself and cheer myself on;
Your exit was my best thing that ever happened to me.

I learned a great lesson by your perfidy;
What I thought was the end of my world;
Was just the close of a chapter with a new better one to begin;
With your voices absent, I found mine;
With your support gone, my inner strength I discovered;
After so many tears, all I was left with was laughter;
Which I might never have found if you hadn’t abandoned me.

Breaking my heart actually realigned the crooked parts;
I could think more clearly after you were gone;
My once shrouded mind serves me way better now;
I realized I really didn’t need your half-baked affirmations;
I was the best cheerleader I found for myself;
I rose out of the ashes when you left me to burn;
I wouldn’t have found myself if you hadn’t abandoned me.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Shaymâ says:

    Very well put Josephina. We have a lot of synthetic individuals today that it’s best sometimes, if not all of the time, to rely on oneself only. A lot of people rally round you only when your help is needed without any attention to your own needs.
    So I’m in love with the statement “I was the best cheerleader I found for myself” because to be honest, you really are. Odds are i or anyone else could be seen as self centered but what am I supposed to be you-centred?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Gyslaine L. says:

    Very strong this writing and moving realist! I like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you Gys. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ssunshine14 says:

    I love this thing,where people find positivity even in all bizzare situations..you described it so well,loved it..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks; we have to. That’s how we stay undefeated.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. ssunshine14 says:

        Yeah,awesome one!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ufuomaee says:

    Love love love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you, Ufuomaee! Have a lovely day! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. kmankata says:

    May I share one of august covenant with you – Loneliness is a gift. It is to call on God with little or no distraction- this piece fit into it

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true. When God is all you have, you are not lonely at all. In fact, you have all we need! Thanks for sharing 👍

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Roos Ruse says:

    When we can get past the initial shock and pain, we find awe in ourselves! And what a stirring photo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Roos Ruse says:

      Certainly! My friends call me Roo (an apostrophe is troublesome for searches, etc. 🙂 We’re friends now, so…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joseyphina says:

        Yes we are ☺

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

