Scars of Beauty


image

#DailyPost

Used to be ashamed of them;

Thought they made me less of what I should be;

Constantly covered them up;

Even denied they existed;

But instead of them going away;

The wounds reopened with each new lie;

I bled the more with each denial.

Thought the world’s strongest and most beautiful

Were the ones with no scars to show;

But I learnt that the scars make one beautiful

Because I grew stronger after bearing them;

That I am not damaged goods because I got scarred along the way;

As no lesson learned is greater than the prize;

My scars have taught me more than any script.

image
(c) Google Images

So I choose not to cover them up anymore;

Life is not fair so a perfect life is just an illusion;

With every fall, I got up more determined;

With every bruise, I took note of the slip;

Scars aren’t mere marks but chapters of my story;

So I’ll own up to and be proud of my scars;

Because they are now my beauty marks.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Shaymâ says:

    This is beautiful. A little secret, everyone even the “beautiful ones” have their own scars. Concealing is the world’s way of hiding it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, I know. If only they would own up to them, people who look up to them would know it’s normal and not try so hard to hide which ends in detrimental outcomes

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mimispassion says:

    Nice

    Liked by 1 person

  3. PaulineMary says:

    oh I Love this piece Josephine. So beautifully written

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Pauline! ☺

      Like

  4. perfectionhasapriceblog says:

    wow. i love this. i am close to tears. I have lots of scars from when i used to self harm and i am so so ashamed of them, but you are right – “i am not damaged goods i just got scarred along the way”. thank you for this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad it spoke to you. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Healing through Photography says:

    This is lovely and so empowering 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you very much ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

