Crossroads


image

#DailyPost
How I wished there were no crossroads;
Wouldn’t have minded if the road was winding, narrow or rough;
Because I wouldn’t have to make a decision;
I’d just follow the trail to the end.
Crossroads mean choices and choices mean decisions;
Every decision taken is a responsibility;
One that would hold me accountable if it went north or south;
Every consequence would be my cross to bear.

Some choices are easier to make than others;
Some are safe, others risky;
Some guarantee expectations to be met, others are a hard gamble;
Why does life have to be that complicated?

The scariest part is not knowing if there’s a chance for a U-turn;
So I can try the other route when I get lost along the way;
But would I even find my way back if I wanted to
When every road taken leads to yet another crossroad?

image
(c) Google Images.

When I arrive at the next one,
I won’t blindly follow my heart because it can be wrong sometimes;
Nor let my feet decide which turn to take because it can get reckless;
I will consult my Compass who has brought me far and follow His direction.

Some crossroads have no maps to read;
But there is the Maker of the road willing to direct your steps;
But it would take you handing over the wheel;
Can you trust Him to guide you to your expected end?

© Josephine Amoako 2016

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wonderful poem and message Phina!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Wendell! I’m inspired by amazing writers like you! ☺

      Like

  2. Amanya says:

    I’ll use Google maps, that never disappoints.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kmankata says:

    Lovely.. that God will take the wheel, my prayer daily

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s the only way we finish the race well

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

