Disappointment


image

#DailyPost
It’s such a terrible feeling.
Sucks all the sunshine from one’s mood.
Has the capacity to ruin your entire day.
Just like cramps at the time of the month is not new to the average woman;
Where the pain that comes knocking feels like the first each time;
So it is with feeling disappointed.
Everyone has felt it at one point in time but the feeling sucks in a different dimension each time.
But maybe it’s our fault when we find ourselves in that situation.
Maybe we expect a little too much from people;
A little more commitment, consideration and sensitivity;
But I’ve come to realize that what one considers a priority is a mere option to the other;
Not everyone feels obliged to return one’s emotional investment;
The Good Book says to whom much is given, much is expected;
But apparently, it doesn’t apply to most people.
You give much to your own peril.

image
(c) Google Images.

Disappointments only come about when expectations are entertained;
It is common sense not to expect too much from people;
But sometimes one is tempted to give someone the benefit of the doubt;
A benefit which becomes your loss.
But if there are no expectations, then what’s the whole point?
There will be no obligation to put effort into anything be it a job or relationship;
What happens then? Chaos and broken hearts.

image

I wish this would be the last time I’d feel disappointed in this life;
But I know better;
No matter how low I drop my expectations;
Disappointments are still bound to happen.
But I promise myself not to waste my time and energy brooding over them;
It wouldn’t change anything and it wouldn’t slow down the ticking clock;
I’ll just move on. Life is too short.

© Josephine Amoako 2016

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Optimistic thoughts

    cheers!

    Thanks for positive vibes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amanya says:

    Maawe. I hate being disappointed. But I’m rarely disappointed, because I reverse my expectations for the loyal few.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s the way to go! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanya says:

    Nice one. I feel like reading it one more time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Awww… I’m glad😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mimispassion says:

    Hmmmm expectations…. Disappointments can hurt very much in the most subtle of ways

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kmankata says:

    lessons learned. i won’t stay too long there

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it only steals our time

      Like

  6. houseofrogue says:

    Lovely post, I truly enjoyed reading 🙂 I’ve just finished a piece on handling disappointment and I hope it’s as inspiring as yours! Keep it up.

    Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

