Would You Rather #27: Get rich through Hard Work or through winning the Lottery?


image
(c) shutterstock images.

Who doesn’t want to be rich? The countless problems we face in the world can be slashed to a manageable minimum if we could have more than enough money resting in our bank accounts after investing some in stocks and businesses. But to some, becoming rich will be only a world they fantasize in their dreams.

The issue is how to get rich and staying rich despite the economic roller coaster ride of this era. Some people are fortunate enough to be catapulted into the enviable Forbes list of rich people with one single successful project. Others have also worked their backs off for years but don’t have much to show for it. The best they have achieved is to be called ‘average so far.’

When you flip the channel and you come across the various fabulous feature life stories of some of the world’s celebrities, one can’t help but wonder how to attain that status without instant riches like winning the lottery considering the monthly salary earned and the many expenses which need to be made.

image
(c) Google Images.

I think it all boils down to values. Some people prefer to earn what they possess. Others pray that manna will fall from heaven and change their life situation. Some people are not in a rush to make it. They would rather work brick by brick, get the foundation right and by consistency and persistence, sow diligence and reap success. Others are fascinated by instant riches wishing their lives could be changed by the mere wave of a magic wand.

Most often than not, people are cautious about spending what they have earned by hard work. What you didn’t work for doesn’t hold much value to you because you didn’t sacrifice anything for it. Apart from the serious-minded ones, some heirs to immense fortunes get overwhelmed by the wealth at their disposal and hence make huge financial blunders.  What you don’t sweat for doesn’t feel that much valuable.

So I’d prefer to get rich through hard work; might sound cliché but that’s me. I prefer to work to earn something. It might take a while to get there but as long as I don’t give up, I know my efforts will pay off. The lottery doesn’t entice me at all. I’d rather congratulate someone who wins the lottery than to be a winner.

Let me know what you think. Is hard work too tedious a path to tread on and so would prefer winning the lottery or you’d rather sweat it out and earn it yourself? Kindly share.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Seb Dani says:

    Now that is hard choice! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wgr56 says:

    I could work my entire life and not make as much money as one lottery ticket could bring me. Does that mean I’m likely to buy a ticket? No, because I’m also a realist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Yeah, the chances of winning a lottery are slim. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. piratepatty says:

    I think you appreciate what you have more when you’ve earned it. Although I wouldn’t say no to winning millions! Think of all the people you could help.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True though 😯

      Liked by 1 person

  4. randommusings29 says:

    I wouldn’t mind either way to be honest. I like the idea of earning the money myself, but by doing so, I feel I am wasting so much of my life working just to have money to live on. With a lottery win, I would then be free to actually enjoy life
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  5. joymanda says:

    I prefer to work hard to get rich.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Birds of a feather we are, it seems😊

      Like

      1. joymanda says:

        Yes

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ufuomaee says:

    I don’t want the burden of working to be rich… I think that’s a miserable life. Because when the money comes, you still work to protect it, and rarely have time to enjoy it. I also don’t do lottery…it’s a waste of money, gambling, and you’re right that if you didn’t work for it, you wouldn’t value it.

    I’d rather do what I love and enjoy success for it…not because I did it for money, just because it’s such an incredible contribution to the world that I’m appreciated financially for it. I’d love to be recognized and rewarded for my writing ability. I would never work a day in my life 🙂 So much more free time to live out my passions 🙂

    Like

  7. sana001 says:

    Obviously anyone would want a lottery winning rich life.. Easy answer, ain’t it??
    I guess, I too would be elated to become suddenly rich one day by winning a lottery.. But again.. That be just luck.. Anyone can easily say that it was pure luck that I became rich.. Forget others, I too would always have it on my mind that hadn’t I been so lucky I would have never bene able to be that rich..
    On the other hand..If its hard earned.. If I have given my all to have it.. If its the pay off to my hard work..I will always be proud of myself, that I made myself that rich..I reached that position all by myself.. It was I who made it, not my luck.. I would be content with myself and not with my luck alone.. I guess I would cherish that more..
    Then, if its lottery-won..Then its sure to end sooner.. Coz that would make me more lethargic and even more of a spendthrift.. I would just sit and spend my money.. And one day -poof!! It will be all gone, and I wouldn’t know what to do next to pay my next month’s bills.. 😛 Its like when we get money as a gift from our relatives and all, we just spend it as we want, without a second though..Coz its not ours..It was easy money.. But if its hard earned, we count every single penny spent.. I’m not indicating towards becoming a miser, but then we learn to value money..coz each penny portrays each drop of our sweat.. So I guess, that will make us think productively..
    So that’s it.. For me, I guess hard earned money is better than lottery-won.. 🙂
    Great post.. Made some valid points there.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree with you, Sana. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sana001 says:

        Keep going great.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Thanks. I will by God’s grace ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  8. K. Bellamy with a Purpose says:

    Well first, I don’t want to be rich I want to be wealthy and share my wealth by providing opportunities to less fortunate. Hence, I’d rather work hard to achieve wealth. Winning the lottery is cool but if I won the lottery I would apply my winnings to become wealthy. Wealthy and rich are two different things in my mind. Rich refers to only money and/or sweets. Wealth, I associate with inspiring people, feeding spirits, saving lives, loving, sharing, caring and THEN, having monetary funds to promote better and healthier lives for myself, as well as others. I do disagree with money having different value if you work for it my money has the same value whether I win it or work for it. I look at money like this, you can’t take it with you, you only live once, so get what you need and have fun. You’ll make make more and you might Fuck it up ah well we live and we learn. Yes, you should save but tomorrow is not promised to anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for throwing a different light on the meaning of riches and wealth. I appreciate your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

