J for Jealousy


image

#AtoZchallenge
I had a good thing but didn’t think it was enough;
Because it seemed my neighbor had something better;
Her grass looked greener than mine;
So I abandoned mine and went after hers.
We fought over it and I won;
Whew! Thought I had it all.
But disappointingly, the grass began to wither;
What was wrong, I began to wonder;
Was I wrong about the grass or is it bad luck chasing me? The harder I tried, the quicker it withered;
Out of frustration, I gave up and went back to my grass;
Only to find someone else on it and it was greener than I left it!

image

That’s what jealousy does to us. It distorts our vision to make someone else’s possession seem more appealing than what we have. When it gets the better part of us, we stop working on what we have in our hands and go on Operation Sabotage Your Neighbor in full force. One may succeed in snatching away the object of envy and later realize it wasn’t as good as he thought it would be. This way, two lawns get destroyed; the one you abandoned and the one you snatched but couldn’t sustain it. Most of the time, life tries to pay us back by making someone else pick up the remains of what we abandoned and making them blossom…very much to our loss.

Thanks (not really) to our human nature, feelings of jealousy isn’t alien to anyone living on planet earth. Right from childhood, we start to display this green-eyed monster in us toward our siblings and we see them as competitors for our parents’ attention. We outgrow it and realize it was just ‘childish’ behavior. But we end up showing it again towards our friends who get some sort of breakthrough before we do. We deprive ourselves of the joy we should share with our loved ones and the peace of mind that we would otherwise enjoy.

image
(c) Google Images.

As long as the fingers remain different in length, some people would achieve their dreams before others. Everyone can’t get the job, promotion, scholarship, life partner, new house, baby at the same time. Wasting time and energy envying someone doesn’t hasten the clock of your breakthrough. It actually halts it and you find yourself stuck in a rocking chair-constantly moving but going nowhere.

Oh, I’m so jealous! isn’t complimentary so let’s quit saying ” that with the excuse that we actually meant to say, “I’m so happy for you!” You might as well say the latter. Because whatever you say has the power to manifest itself. How pitiful to prophesy such ugly sentiments about yourself and see them come to pass!

Avoid seeing life through the lens of jealousy. It demeans what you have and paints an illusion of how great someone else’s life is. Things are not always what they seem. All that glitters is not gold.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Rose says:

    I love this Post. You have an amazing way of driving the point home. I agree that, we fail to see the beauty in our own lives, while salivating over someone else’s blessings. I have seen this time and time again. It is important to be purposeful about how we react to the blessings of others. I believe that we also spend so much time looking at the grass of others that we can’t tend to our own, which is probably why their grass is withering.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Exactly, if we judiciously attend to our own grass, it will be as green as the one you are eyeing. Thanks for reading, Rose☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rose says:

        My pleasure!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is true for me. I decided a while back that I would let God direct my life. Being jealous is like telling him he’s not doing the job for me good enough. Better to wait it out and see what he really has in mind. Good post. @DietzShirley from I Just Have to Say

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Shereen says:

      I like that!! “Being jealous is like telling him, he’s not doing the job for me good enough.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joseyphina says:

        Yeah, we need to check that 😯

        Like

    2. joseyphina says:

      True; jealousy is a way of saying you don’t trust God to take good care of you. We should trust Him to do what He does best. Thanks for passing by, Shirley ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Shereen says:

    Lately, I’ve been suffering from jealousy, especially in 2015!! From my perspective, every one was doing so much better that me and I wanted what they have! I’m happy to say that this year I’m not killing myself with jealousy and losing sleep over what others have. I still don’t have what I WANT but I have what I need, my basic needs and Sweet Jesus!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen to that Shereen and as long as you keep your eyes on you, He will definitely give you the desires of your heart. ☺

      Like

  4. Loved the post.

    Jealousy kills more than guns.

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it does. Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. FosuBaako says:

    Jealousy… it demeans what you have and paints an illusion of how great someone else’s life is….. #Word

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for reading, Fosu☺

      Like

  6. gislyreal says:

    Jealousy is the sneaky form of inferiority complex. Our times are in His hands, so why worry about another persons time which you have no control over. So inspiring girl. Keep up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, very true… Inferiority complex had a role to play in it. Thanks for reading, dear☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. gislyreal says:

        You are welcome.
        Is is J for Job today? lol

        Liked by 1 person

  7. piratepatty says:

    Jealousy is an ugly thing. I love the saying the grass is greener on the other side because they take care of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It is very ugly indeed. Yeah, we sometimes forget that the grass is green because someone worked on it. Instead of working on ours, we waste time being jealous

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This is beautiful Joseyphina!

    J is for jealousy!

    well said!

    J is for also Joseyphina :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yay, J for me! 🙆 thanks, dear😘

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

