Would You Rather #26: Explore Space or the Ocean?


image

For the adventurous, it would sound like the best of both worlds. Those passionate about discovering new territories would do whatever it takes to go to the ends of the world just for pleasure’s sake. I wish I was that adventurous but well…
Honestly, I’ve never really considered exploring either worlds.  I haven’t even had the chance to see much of the world and appreciate its incredible beauty but never say never, right?

Okay, so let’s start with space. I’ve always admired the skies and wondered how it’d feel like being beyond the clouds. Floating in outer space like Sandra Bullock did in Gravity sounds cool. But I wonder if there’s much to see up there unlike the bowels of the ocean where a whole kingdom exists.

Although I love water, I don’t feel comfortable going underneath it. I remember the few seconds I spent under water as I was being baptized…I thought I was going to die! I knew I shouldn’t worry because I was being held but the second my face went underwater, I panicked within and the seconds below the surface felt like eternity. I was so glad when I was finally pulled up and I thank God baptism is just a one-time affair!

image
(c) Google Images.

I’m sure the scuba apparatus makes the whole underwater experience safe, but knowing myself very well, I would most likely freak out and drown myself with no one’s help. The few documentaries I’ve watched about the ocean is fascinating and how I wish I could pay it a visit but would I survive the trip?

As for space, bouncing on and off mid-air sounds less suicidal to me. To be at a station where there’s no gravity sounds surreal till one has experienced it. Can you imagine yourself in outer space?
About the ocean, maybe when I successfully overcome my discomfort and can bring myself to swim, MAYBE I would consider it.

Outer space and the ocean are both out of my league but if I am to choose, I’d take space because I’m less likely to kill myself in the process. But if I’m daring myself to overcome my phobia, I might consider the ocean. I know, I’m indecisive about this one.

What about you? Which world do you dream of exploring one day? Up or down? Air or water, space or ocean? Kindly share.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

22 Comments Add yours

  1. wgr56 says:

    The way I see it, I’m gonna die in either place, but space doesn’t have sharks. So my answer is I’d rather die in outer space, where no one can hear you scream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Die with no witnesses, huh? Interesting. Thanks for sharing ☺

      Like

      1. piezoradeon says:

        Space !
        If you talk about beauty, both are equally awesome. I disagree with you when you said that space is endless and oceans are beautiful.
        I would say that oceans until a certain depth are beautiful , but when you go into deeper parts like trenches and abysses, there is very sparse life and not much to see and is pretty dark. Its the same for space, as long as you are near a planet or a celestial body, its beautiful when you trafel farther, theres agai darkness!

        People have died in water, Just imagine how cool would it be to be a corpse floating for eternity? Calm and serene! Would get into the guiness records to be the first!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        I see, thanks for sharing your thoughts. Appreciate you passing by ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d rather go under the ocean, actually, because of the intimate danger. i’m something of an adrenaline junkie, i’d do anything for a thrill.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice, the Daring type, huh? Nice to know! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LightWriters says:

    do i have to choose? I would prefer to explore mountains, fields, streams, lakes, (in a kayak) and faraway places, but no ocean or space walks for this girl! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… Exploring mountains sound nice and serene too! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Qoheleth says:

    Space probably, IF traveling between times work. So I come back to a different time zone 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… That would be cool😉

      Like

  5. vhuvu says:

    Space. Because I hate water. I think space has something important in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Space. I’m terrified of the ocean. I guess space should be equally scary, but for me, it’s just not. I think I have kind of an expectation too that if I go to space, there’s a really good chance I’m not coming back. I think that if I go out on the ocean I have more of an expectation to survive, so it’s worse if I don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting point of view. Thanks for sharing, Jen👍

      Like

  7. Amanya says:

    Space. Because it seems to be infinite.
    I’d wanna explore it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Okay… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Amanya ☺

      Like

  8. Ufuomaee says:

    Water! The space is so vast it’s daunting. I’m afraid I might get lost forever. Or spend so long out there and have nothing amazing to show for it. Whereas I’m quite sure I will see fascinating creatures within minutes of being underwater. If I can be protected from sharks and poisonous fish, I’d take the ocean any day, and watch space on TV!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha…. The idea of space sounds empty but underwater sounds really adventurous! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Marquessa says:

    Ocean. As a kid I loved Jacques Cousteau shows!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great! Thanks for passing by, Marquessa☺

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jo Smith says:

    I’d definitely choose the ocean because my friends and I always enjoy pretending to be mermaids at the pool in the summer, and I’d pretend to be a mermaid in the ocean, too. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I see. Ocean girl you are then. Thanks for sharing your view, Jo. Appreciate you passing by ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

