The number 5


image
(c) Google Images.

Five times have I woken up only to find myself in yet another dream;

Each one following the former the more real it seemed;

The circus which was my life felt like the universe plotting a scheme;

If only the tea of my life would have a little more cream;

I wouldn’t have minded to be part of the team.

Five times I had no other choice but to steal;

The spotlight of others so I can deal;

With my own insecurities so that my own skin I do not peel;

I find myself grinding for my next meal;

If only I could find a way myself to heal;

Five times I wished I could hand over my life to lease;

So that my vicious cycle of woes would cease;

Maybe someone would do a better job of cutting down the weeds;

And iron out the crease

And hand it back so fine that all I can say is, ‘Oh geez!’

Five times about my state of mind I lied;

So my issues from the world I could hide;

But several times from within I died;

Who will through the tides be my guide;

To peaceful streams where I may abide?

But out of the ashes I will rise;

Never again will I play nice;

To the vices that lure me no matter the size;

To my fortune I will throw the dice;

My number five chance I promise to be wise.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Joel Jemba says:

    Yo, this is a good piece! well done. . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you, Joel! ✋

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jorcil says:

    Nicely nice!

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Jorcil! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. PaulineMary says:

    beautifully written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you, Pauline ☺

      Like

  4. joymanda says:

    Nice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Mandy ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        You’re welcome

        Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad! ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

