Friend: Be One to Have One


image

#DailyPost
It is true that we all came into the world alone and alone we will depart;
But while I sojourn this earth, I do need someone to call a friend.

Someone whose presence would banish the demons of depression and desolation;
Whose mere smile rekindles the ebbing hope I have to keep on fighting;
Whose touch takes away the harsh cold of the world and keeps me warm;
Whose voice resonates with affirmation and unflinching faith in who I’m meant to be;
Whose words can resurrect my dead dreams and calm the storms that trouble my soul.

image

But before I can find such a sweet soul to spend my temporary stay on earth with;
I first of all have to be the friend I wish to be;

Show me your friend and I will show you your character, they say;
If I wish to have a kind, reliable, faithful and truthful friend as mine;
Then I must find the qualities in me so I may give what I receive.

People change but friends grow;

They may not be perfect but they are just right;
May be separated by circumstances but remain united in the heart;
Recalling cherished moments are therapeutic in hard times.

I just love the name ‘friend’;
Because it is exactly what God is to me;
I relish the sound of the word;
Because it reminds me of all I aspire to be to you;

Some friendships may fall apart with time;
But the ones who stay, I call family.

Need a friend? First be a friend someone would need.

 

Josephine Amoako (c) 2016

Let’s all strive to be friends people would call ‘heaven sent’ in the spirit of #world’spoetryday

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanya says:

    Each one Teach One. Now I have a new one Be One to Have One

    Like

  2. mwdunham says:

    Enjoyed and reaffirming. Thank you.

    http://www.behealedandwhole.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it☺

      Like

  3. zarry4 says:

    Nice piece there..I’m looking forward to grow in writing just as you are doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks Z. And you shall if you keep on writing 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  4. moviepro777 says:

    Reblogged this on moviepro777 and commented:
    Very inspirational.

    Like

  5. moviepro777 says:

    Very inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kodwo Hybrid says:

    I really enjoyed reading this.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Glad to know! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. kmankata says:

    Beautiful write. Great friends were once strangers we said hi to. So I guess if you want a friend just say hi, be good always and leave the rest to time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Truly put. Thanks for reading ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This was a truly amazing post. I loved the content and the writing was absolutely superb. I will definitely be subscribing to this blog and I can’t wait to see what you’re going to be writing about next. Absolutely brilliant piece!

    https://kaleidoscopeofdreamsblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Avani says:

    Nice thoughts and well put. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Avani☺

      Like

      1. Avani says:

        Np 🙂 I also enjoy writing and reading poetry. You can have a look at my blog if you wish.(Apart from poetry, I also ramble a lot there :D) Nice to meet you.
        Av

        Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

