Would You Rather #20: Sing like an Opera Star or Cook like a Gourmet Chef?


image

To be gifted with an awesome, jaw-dropping, fascinating voice is one of the many wishes of the young child who loves music and admires music stars. To be called on stage to sing your heart out to the admiration of the audience and virtually the whole world via the internet is an honor most artistes don’t take lightly. Apart from the display of the vocal wow-factor on stage, the fame that comes along with it looks very enticing. Fans requesting for selfies and autographs wherever you go can make you feel good about yourself even if you are not having a very good day. To be seen as the role model for the young and old alike feels like being crowned most influential. To be celebrated as a star has its numerous benefits: endorsement deals, honorary degrees, exclusive features on renowned magazines and interviews on primetime TV are just but a few of them.

To have gifted hands in the kitchen should not be underestimated by all means! In Ghana, families consider their daughter ready for marriage when her culinary skills as good enough not to embarrass them in their in-law’s house among other home management abilities. No level of education of corporate position comes close to the qualification of how tasty your food is. Hence when I watch western movies where wives or women in general are portrayed to be poor cooks and they laugh over it as if it’s the 21st century norm, I find it a bit odd. When a man says to his guest that his wife doesn’t know how to cook, that is not a compliment or is it now?

image

I love music and I enjoy singing along when my favorite tunes are being played out loud but I don’t think singing is my dominant strength. Apart from the goodies one has to sacrifice so as to maintain a smooth voice like chilled water (something I can’t live without), I don’t have the poise to sing in front of people without ‘burning’ the song to ashes. I admire amazing singers like the late Whitney Houston, Adele, Darlene Zschech, Carrie Underwood, Fred Hammond and I will cheer for them any day but to sing like an opera star is not one of my strengths. I know the big names in the music industry didn’t make it on their talent alone; they worked hard to sharpen their skills and their diligence paid off. But that isn’t something I was cut out to do.

But as for cooking, I wouldn’t mind being amazingly great at it. Since I love food have a healthy appetite, it would be fun and self-fulfilling to be cook up amazing food for my ever-appreciative taste buds. At least whiles I’m at it, I don’t have to have an audience watching me turning the kitchen upside down. All that is important is that the food is ready and it looks, smells and taste great.
So, I’d go for cooking like a gourmet chef any day.

Would you rather sing your lungs out or whip up dishes in a fab way? Do share, I want to know!

Josephine Amoako © 2016

38 Comments Add yours

  1. Sibo says:

    Before I even read, food wins all the time
    #TeamAlwaysHungry

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Food is a necessity. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  2. Sibo says:

    Let me add this, the kitchen is my comfort zone.
    I would literally die on stage!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I think we share the same sentiments, sibo

      Like

  3. SyedaFR says:

    Cooking is always an easier way out! I can’t even imagine going on stage and singing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmm… Same here

      Liked by 1 person

  4. vhuvu says:

    Food!!!! I love food. I will choose to be a chef any day. I’m hungry right now hey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      So am I. Thanks for sharing your thoughts ☺

      Like

  5. piratepatty says:

    Opera Singer! More my comfort zone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh you can sing! Good to know, Patty! ✋

      Liked by 1 person

  6. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    Cooking… Not the favorite currently but between these two, cooking!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I agree. Thanks for passing by, Awo ☺

      Like

  7. joymanda says:

    For someone who appreciates good food, I’d go for the gourmet chef. Singing is just not my thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Another similar trait… Nice to know, Mandy☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey! Thank you for visiting! I’m enjoying the Pratt family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hi there! Glad to know! ✋

      Like

  9. LightWriters says:

    Gotta say cook like a gourmet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your choice ☺

      Like

  10. I feel like being able to cook really well would be more useful in the long run… Plus my voice sucks, and I can’t say I really care 🙂 But then, I’m not so great a cook… It’d be nice though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice of you to share your thoughts with us ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Ufuomaee says:

    I love singing more than I love cooking. And I can sing…even if I’m the only one who thinks so 🙂 However, I can’t sing like an opera star, nor would I want to. I appreciate their style with moderation. I prefer soul and RnB and gospel. But I do love cooking too, and if I could cook anything and make it spectacular, I would prefer to be known for that ability than to be an opera singer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice, nice, nice!

      Like

  12. Kim Sweeting says:

    Definitely the gourmet chef….being on stage is not a comfortable and natural thing for rme…..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Kim. ☺

      Like

      1. Kim Sweeting says:

        You’re welcome Josey…I’m trying to catch up on some blog reading today…you have certainly been rolling out the posts….work that writing anointing girl…lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Oh I’m working it to God’s glory… Thanks for reading 😊

        Like

  13. AtimMercy says:

    Cook, cook, cook, cook, cook, and more cooking!!..

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Difficult predicament for me, as I enjoy both. I think I’ll have to go with singing, because my husband happens to be a pretty good chef:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good for you! Thanks for passing by ☺

      Like

  15. Cook like a gourmet chef

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yay! We seem to think along similar lines, Sinawo ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Desaha says:

    I would go for singing even though i am not perfectly good at it. The end is always the best, the standing ovation and the applaud is something else. I would really love that

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

