Would You Rather #18: Go without TV or Junk Food for the rest of your life?


image

TV, every idle person’s best companion. It engages your eyes and mind on almost everything one can think of: documentaries, movies, animations, music videos, news, reality and talk shows and so many others. I can’t imagine how life must have been for our ancestors who lived before its invention. They obviously had their own creative ways of passing the time. One can spend hours flipping channels and watching various programs without realizing that time is passing by. Bored? Switch on the TV with good channels and you are good to go!

Junk food…think of all the crispy, fried foods that comforts you when you are having a bad day when you are depressed about something or someone. We all know about the benefits of healthy living and the health implications of eating junk food but one can’t help but spoil himself once in a while when the situation demands it.

I am neither a TV freak nor a big fan of junk food. I indulge in either one depending on what is available at the time and how it would help my mood. I enjoy TV because it helps me be abreast with what’s going on in other parts of the world be it lifestyle, news and entertainment. And they do give me ideas for writing so I wouldn’t totally call TV indulgence a waste of my time.

image

I can live without junk food for a long while, I think. I only go after it when I get deep cravings for it. When that has been satisfied, I can go on without it for some time. So junk food is not particularly a ‘must have, must eat’ kind of indulgence for me.  Even when I get the seasonal cravings, I can ignore them without messing up my mood.

So if I’m asked to choose between TV and junk food, I think I’ll stick with TV. My life without TV would be boring and would cut down on my inspiration, that’s for sure. But life without junk food means life without cholesterol and if that means I spare my organs the trouble of failing before its time, that sounds great to me.

Letting go of junk food would be hard since I love some comfort food to console me from time to time but letting go of the medium of getting information and entertainment sounds detrimental to my well-being.

Which guilty pleasure would you forfeit for the other and why? Which one can’t you live without? Can’t wait to read your thoughts!

Josephine Amoako © 2016

20 Comments Add yours

  1. I’d much rather go without TV, considering that I never watch it. As for junk food… I’m an athlete, I play volleyball, track and field, soccer, cross country and basketball, plus I run in my free time. I don’t eat a lot of junk food, but I’d still rather go without TV, but neither are really necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True, neither are really necessary. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. a pleasure 🙂

        Like

  2. Ufuomaee says:

    So very interesting!I ‘ve always boasted that I would never give up chocolate for a million pounds…because what’s the point of living without being able to enjoy chocolate on occasion. Everything else, I may be able to do without. I’m not a food fanatic or a TV fanatic, so it’s really hard to choose between the two. I’ve gone almost two months now without TV since my baby broke the TV by throwing a bottle at it! I miss it, but it’s given me more time to write on my blog, and even entertain myself with my own imagination by writing my own series! But I wouldn’t want to never have the chance or right to watch it again… This is a toughy! I think if I’ve got social media, my laptop and DVD player, I can get by with TV and have all the access I want to my junk food when ever I feel inclined to 🙂 Am I cheating?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ufuomaee says:

      I meant I can get by without TV

      Liked by 1 person

  3. joseyphina says:

    Lol… I don’t think you’re cheating, Ufo and I do agree with you. Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. piratepatty says:

    Junk food. Don’t eat it anyway since I eat a plant based diet only. This would be a tough choice for my fiance’ however! lol I use his huge screen t.v. as my computer monitor! I only watch 2 shows on television so that wouldn’t hurt as I have a never ending supply of books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice! Wish you could lend me your book collection. Thanks for passing by, Patty 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. joymanda says:

    I’d go without TV. I hardly watch TV since I can get almost every information and entertainment on my phone. But for junk food, I can’t. Lol. My mother should see this, since she nags anytime she sees me eating junk food. I love my fries and chicken and pizza and all the others and oh yeah, I work out small small 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Love junk food huh? Interesting… Life would be depressing without them, I admit

      Liked by 1 person

  6. vhuvu says:

    I can live without both I think. I’m always reading and writing so I barely watch TV. I can’t eat junk food if I have to lose weight. So yea. Both.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by 😃

      Like

  7. LightWriters says:

    Starting to think I don`t need either…and feel much better without!! Yahoo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. gislyreal says:

    At one point in my life i think i was addicted to tv but right now,i can do without both and just silent me time lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good choice 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Liz says:

    I would just do both, moderately. Thank you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for weighing in, Liz! 😃

      Like

  10. Kim Sweeting says:

    Truthfully…..neither are significant or habitual parts of my life so either way it really would not matter…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your candid opinion, Kim☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

