Longing


image
Photo credits to Google Images

#DailyPost

Didn’t know how it felt to long for someone;
How to miss another that much;
Always felt self-sufficient in my own shell;
With no need to seek affection outdoors;
Until I met you;
You broke down the door guarding my heart and came waltzing in.

Didn’t know how good it felt to care;
How liberating to just let go; how natural it was to love;
Was running on half-empty unknown to me;
Thought I was filled up with no need for a top up;
Until you showed me the vacuum within;
And flooded it with all that you are.

Thought I’d be okay when you left;
Besides, I was fine before we met;
But I learnt the hard way that people may come and go;
But some leave memories and imprints which last a lifetime;
And yours have come to stay;
To soothe and to comfort; my life to brighten and to cheer.

Now I know it is you that my heart has been looking for;
Behind the locked door, waiting to be opened;
Hoping and praying that it would be you;
Thanks for proving me wrong;
For making me realize;
That you are everything I never knew I always wanted.

Josephine Amoako © 2016
Inspired by “What I Never Knew I Always Wanted” track by Carrie Underwood

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rose says:

    Love is truly powerful. You can’t imagine its beauty. You can only experience it. Very beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very true. Thanks, Rose 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

