Would You Rather #14: Die before or after your spouse in old age?


image
Cute, right? 🙂

Death is the phase in life that no one looks forward to but can’t avoid thinking about anyway. Every movie, series and song no matter how captivating comes to an end eventually. The good thing with them however is that we can relive the ecstatic experience of savoring them by replaying them countless times. But unfortunately, we don’t have the luxury of pausing, rewinding or fast-forwarding our lives at will.

One of the heart-leaping and skin-tingling moments of a marriage ceremony is when two lovers promise each other to love and stay with each other for the rest of their days. They hope that ‘till death do us part’ happens much later than sooner so they can grow old together. I usually go like ‘awww’ when I see photos of old couples on Facebook who look very much in love with each other as if they just got married. I’ve come across some stories where such old couples die in each other’s arms a few hours apart. That would be the ideal hope of a couple, right? But that rarely happens.

Unless a couple grew to hate each other with time, I doubt anyone would wish death on the other. Old couples have each other for comfort and companionship especially when all their children have grown and left home to settle down. It’s their second honeymoon; where they get to reminisce on how far they have come and wonder how their lives would have turned out if they hadn’t found each other.

image
Photo credits to Google Images

Why would I want to die before my spouse? So that I wouldn’t be the one who has to live the latter years of my life all alone? Or so I would be the one to be missed and talked about to anyone who would listen?

On the other hand, why would I prefer to be last to go? So I would be the one missing my better half instead of being missed? For me, it’s neither here nor there.

To stay married till old age in this century is now considered one of life’s miracles. It seems with the heightened push for liberation for almost anything also came the higher levels of intolerance and inability to endure changes and stick to one’s own vows. So to stay married to one person till you drop dead seems almost impossible.

Death isn’t something I wish for much less dying before or after my spouse. It is my prayer that when that time comes, I wouldn’t regret with whom I spent the most part of my life. But I’d depart with a contented smile knowing that I loved someone that much to have memories we shared in mind even in my last breath.

What about you? If it were to be a wish to be granted, could you easily make the choice or leave to chance? Kindly share your thoughts.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

16 Comments Add yours

  1. vhuvu says:

    If he dies at the age of 98 i want to die before him.right before him if possible. Or the same day. But before him. I don’t want to know what’s it’s like to miss the love of your life. But life isn’t like that. So who knows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Indeed, who knows? Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      Like

  2. Amanya says:

    Before mahn. The thought of losing the love of my life
    Yo. After: I can’t Imagine the love of my life living without me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Awww… Cute. Thanks for passing by, Amanya.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. PaulineMary says:

    I think am conflicted on what i would prefer, the pain of losing the love of my life is unthinkable but then again when I think of how much pain they would equally have to go through, it saddens my heart

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Pauline

      Liked by 1 person

  4. piratepatty says:

    As I have lost a spouse I know what it feels like from that side. Now I would prefer to go together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sorry about that. Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Patty.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d rather die after, because I think that I’m strong enough to try and handle the grief, and I don’t want to inflict it on someone I love

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Very considerate of you… Thanks for sharing 😊

      Like

  6. joymanda says:

    I’d prefer us to go together

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, dying in each other’s arms would be best…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        Exactly

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ufuomaee says:

    Am commenting before reading… go first! Can’t wait to see Jesus. Not looking forward to slugging it out alone either.

    Like

  8. After. Imagine being with someone for 50 years. I am interested in finding out who I’ď be without them in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting… Nice thought, Sinawo 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

