Would You Rather #13: Spend a year as a Cop or a Teacher as Voluntary Service?


image

I find both police and teaching as noble professions. Cops protect us from the bad guys and teachers impart knowledge onto us, help us discover our talents and encourage us to tread on the good path.

But if you come from my part of the world, you’d agree with me that the police are not exactly respected because of some actions they take that tarnish their image. As for the teachers, as essential as they are, they are not appreciated the way they deserve (in my humble opinion) but that’s for another day.

I admire people in uniforms; they look smart and serious-minded. As the saying goes, one bad nut spoils the whole soup and I must say, there are one too many in the system. Ranging from taking money from drivers for no reason at all from my side of the world to shooting down unarmed citizens from the other side, there is no doubt that most people feel disappointed and even unsafe with the very people we are supposed to feel secure around. Nonetheless, there are many good cops out there and I salute them.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

Teachers are the children’s guardians second to parents. They help open up the young minds, push them to try different things and encourage them to follow through what comes naturally to them. Memories of particularly good and bad teachers stay with people throughout life. Whatever they said to spur them on or tear them down stays with them as long as they live. The influence they have on the fragile minds of kids and teens is powerful enough to make or break someone.

Although teaching does not come naturally to me, I’d prefer to teach as a voluntary service as compared to policing. This is because I’d get the opportunity to be part of someone’s success story; to tell a younger person no matter how academic slow he may be that he is worth something and consequently to be remembered as a source of inspiration for what he turned out to be in future.

As honorable as the office of the cop is, I don’t think I’m cut out for the responsibilities that come with the uniform. I am not that brave to face dangerous people and risk my life to save others. That said, I salute all cops and soldiers out there who constantly risk their lives so the rest of us would enjoy peace and security.

What about you, would you gladly wear the uniform and fight crime in your city as voluntary service or would you rather teach the next generation? Would you rather help flush out the bad guys or would you help bring up the next generation so they don’t end up being the bad guys? Kindly share your thoughts.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

24 Comments Add yours

  1. ferddhie says:

    No contest. Voluntary teacher. I love working with kids

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for passing by, Leah😃

      Like

  2. joseyphina says:

    Good to know! Please ignore the first comment

    Like

  3. Teacher , i have done it before

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh okay… Thanks for passing by.

      Like

  4. SyedaFR says:

    I am presently working as a teacher! I really love it. 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know! God bless you for your service!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SyedaFR says:

        Thank you dear! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Joel Jemba says:

    I would rather spend a year as a cop. . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I salute you, Officer Jemba! 👮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel Jemba says:

        *salutes right back. . .

        Liked by 1 person

  6. kukupassion says:

    Great observations. I am a teacher by profession and I love following up the lives of my students. I admire the uniformed friends, and might perhaps give a week to feel their thing!!! But yes, a teacher I’ll always be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m proud of the sacrifices teachers make and thank you on behalf of all the kids you’ve imparted on😃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I would choose to be a teacher ten times over. Being a çop has never crossed my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Victor 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome Joseyphina

        Liked by 1 person

  8. joymanda says:

    I would choose to be a teacher. That will suit me better. I remember some years back, I used to gather the kids in my grandmother’s house to teach them and oh, how I enjoyed it. Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! Thanks for passing by, Mandy 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joymanda says:

        You’re welcome 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Adadzewa says:

    i would rather volunteer to teach as you rightly said i would wont to impart the knowledge i have acquired so i can be part of peoples success stories. i dove my heart to cops though

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know. I hope all teachers would have this mindset

      Like

  10. i would rather be a cop. i mean,life threatening situations and danger? let me at it!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good to know! I salute you! 👮

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Ufuomaee says:

    Teacher. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

