Color Me


 

image

If only people would look at me and see beyond the color of my skin;
They would get to know the real me and not the stereotype they have been brainwashed with;

If only the world wouldn’t put me in a box about what I can do;
They would realize that the sky is only the floor and not the ceiling for me;
Their wildest imaginations are just the sneak peeks of the reflection of my talents;

If only they would be open-minded;
My gift to the world could be even bigger.

image
Ever used to? 🙂

If only people would understand that skin color is not a category for defining significance;
But merely diverse shades of one;
Just as our Creator intended us to see ourselves;

Like complementary colors on the color wheel;
Like pieces of a puzzle;
We need each one of us to be whole.

One color elevating itself as superior over the other is meaningless;
Like the hand telling itself it is better than the leg;
Or the head saying it has no use for the neck;
It is just a matter of time before the body falls apart.

United we stand, divided we fall, we keep preaching;
But we keep setting ourselves up against each other;
Yet expect to be firm on our feet.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

If I can portray the ambition of the white,
The strength of the black;
The diligence of the yellow;
And the passion of the brown;
Wouldn’t I have what all that it takes to shine?

So color me neutral;
Don’t limit me to the color identified by your eyes;
I am the embodiment of all hues;
You may have a dominant side;
And I the recessive or vice versa
But at the end of the day, it’s you and I who make the color wheel complete.

Josephine Amoako © 2016

14 Comments Add yours

  1. A beautiful message Phina, just as beautiful as your precious selfless heart dear sister! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Wendell! God bless you too 😊

      Like

  2. I love this. Your consistency is very motivating. Keep doing what you do dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      It’s by God’s grace ooo… 👐 thank you, Vic

      Like

  3. SyedaFR says:

    This is amazingly written! Your words strike the right chords and strings of the heart! Wish people could really see beyond color! Colored skin is always an issue wherever on earth one is! 😞
    Could relate to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you! ☺😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. gislyreal says:

    Color is just a shade. Impact completes us. Beautiful one girl, keep inspiring the world

    Like

  5. I am in agreement. I have written several blogs on this subject as well. It is time we see character rather than color. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on a much needed discussion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, about time. Thanks for reading

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sparkyjen says:

    Reblogged this on Sparky Jen and commented:
    When I was growing up, I asked my foster mother (who I love very much) a lot of questions. She was such a giving, tolerate soul. No matter how many questions I asked, she pondered first, tnen replied.

    This day, I wanted to know about all the different people in the world. The people that didn’t look like me.

    She told me they had different outsides, but we’re just the same on the inside. Jehovah God made us all. How would we ever wonder if we all looked alike?

    She taught me to love all my universal brothers and sisters. This was important since I had been surrendered at birth. She didn’t want me to miss out on meeting any of my human family.

    One day she pointed out a beautiful rainbow. When I looked, I saw all these lovely colors. Red, blue, yellow, pink.

    I knew then that I wanted to be one of those lovely colors. I wanted to be part of something greater than myself alone.

    Today, at a young 60, I’m so glad to be here with everyone. My heart fills with joy being part of our universe. Because of all you pretty colors, I smile more.

    If I hear myself feeling hate for anything, anyone, anyplace, I self correct.

    I am complete because I know the color wheel that is you, and me, turns best when we all shine our brightest colors!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing that, Jen😃

      Like

  7. What a boring world it would be if we were all one color. I am so grateful that my mother taught me that we are all the same. No one is better than anyone else. I am also grateful for my ninth grade science teacher who saw fit to break it down for her students. The closer a people are to the equator, the darker the pigmentation of the skin so as to protect them from the powerful sun rays. That’s all. Nothing more. Nothing less.
    The hardest thing for me to understand are the so-called Christians who spew forth so much hate and venom. I have yet to find a passage in the bible that states white people are better than everyone else.
    Thank you mama for raising me to be living and accepting of all people. Thank you for teaching me that it is good and wonderful for us to be different and not the same.
    This is very beautiful. Thank you for sharing this with us.
    Hugs,
    Leah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      And thanks for passing by, Leah😃

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

