Would You Rather #11: Play a Character in an Action-Filled Thriller or a Romantic Comedy?


image

I love movies. Everyone who knows me can testify to that. Not just because it serves as a convenient distraction from my life’s happenings; I pick up expressions, update my vocabulary and get new ideas for my stories. So I get to be somewhat selective about the movies I watch. Movies should get me emotional. It should make me laugh my head off and cry my eyes out when the scene calls for it. I shouldn’t feel like I wasted two hours of my time watching something that gave me nothing to ponder over and talk about.

I love both action-packed movies and romantic comedies. Talk about Iron Man, Most Wanted, Salt, Mission Impossible, Antman, Avengers…I could goon and on and I don’t mind watching it over and over again. As to the love-themed movies, I can think of Mr. & Mrs. Smith, Blended, Parent Trap, Footloose, 17 again, Tangled and several others which takes me on fantasy ride about Mr. Right, the One and the other cute names we give to the idea of the better half out there.

To be a character in a movie, who would say no to that?! I’m torn between the two actually. To be a damsel in distress who the hero defies the odds to save sounds cool; and to find love in the midst of life’s usual circumstances doesn’t sound so bad either.

I enjoy action-filled thrillers because apart from the love aspect, there are other issues that crop up that keeps you thinking. Such movies are filled with hard choices with need to be made; whether to stand for what you believe in or sometimes compromise for the greater good. It also reveals how courageous or cowardly one actually is in the light of tough and dangerous situations. At the end of the day when the battle had been won, the question is whether the sacrifices made  were worth the achievement or was the price too high to pay and regret was what you were left with?

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

Romantic comedies are easier to relate to although sometimes the plot could be too cheesy for comfort. Most real life stories are romantic comedies or tragedies playing out. It is either you get the girl/guy, someone else does or you die for love. It may not be as dramatic as we see it on our screens but hey, your life is your movie. You can make it as dramatic as you want it to be.

I am not the adventure-seeking type; I prefer to play it safe but for the opportunity to play a character in a movie, I think I’d venture to come out of my comfort zone. I’d get to laugh, cry, freak out, chase or be chased by the bad guys, escape death narrowly and have a feel of life outside daily comfort. It’s a challenge I wouldn’t mind taking.

That’s just me; what about you, would you choose to play the character where you get to have ‘a moment’ with that fine girl or guy for whom you’d put everything else on hold just to be with that special one or would you like to be the to save or be saved by someone in a chaotic life? Please share, always love to read your thoughts!

Josephine Amoako © 2016

32 Comments Add yours

  1. AtimMercy says:

    Please give me the guns, the fast cars, the adrenaline rush,the tough girl attitude, attire like that of Nikita, and a whole bunch of bad guys to fight, and I will bring you Oscars….

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… I feel you, girl! 👍🚔🔫

      Liked by 1 person

  2. vhuvu says:

    Action!!! This is why the die hard franchise is my favourite. Granted he loves he wife and saves her in one of them but still the action is amazing. That’s me watching. But at the end of the day I relate more to romantic movies because they are what we crave for. The idea of love plays on our hearts and we imagine ourselves in those roles. I would want to be that weird girl in the notebook. Their love was epic. Though their death sucked.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Love it is! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, dear! ☺

      Like

  3. LightWriters says:

    Romantic comedy — I’m thinking Meg Ryan in ‘You’ve Got Mail’…or Sandra Bullock in ‘The Proposal’… I say, give us all the romance we can get… the world’s in wa-yyy too short a supply of it these days…:)

    Liked by 4 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice!!! Thanks for sharing 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joymanda says:

    You just made my morning. I’d give anything to star in an action movie. It has always been my dream to be a sniper in a movie 😂😂😂
    I enjoy the chase, the motor bikes and cars, gun shots, swords, arrows……ok lemme stop here 😀 But seriously though, I need a role in an action movie. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha… We are definitely on the same page! 👍☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love both, but I’d play in an action movie. It would be like having an alter ego. But- I must have a stunt woman to act in the really dangerous scenes. I don’t like getting hurt. :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Of course… Action woman! Thanks for sharing 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  6. SyedaFR says:

    Interesting! Frankly I am a very weak hearted person, so action, cars, guns, punches and bullets would scare me. A romantic comedy or drama one would be one for me. I loved Sandra Bullock in The Blind Side and Miss Congeniality so would love something that kind! 😍😘

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Another one for love! Thanks for passing by! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SyedaFR says:

        It is always a pleasure! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Kim Sweeting says:

    Definitely an action-filled thriller….that would be fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right?! Action it is! 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Definitely Rachel McAdams in all her romantic comedies. Love Love Love her ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, she’s an amazing actress. Love it is, then! Thanks, Sinawo☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. piratepatty says:

    Action! I want to be Lara Croft! I think though that the Mr. and Mrs. Smith movie gives me exactly what I want. The best of both. Action and Romance! It’s one of my favorites1

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      One of my favorites as well! Thanks, Patty! 👍🚔🔫

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Joel Jemba says:

    It had to be those two, how about detectives and science fictions? . . .
    nice piece btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm… Another two interesting worlds! Thanks for reading, Joel ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel Jemba says:

        pleasure always passing by *winks*

        Liked by 1 person

  11. JustMeOMaya says:

    Romantic comedy!!! I want the cheesy storyline with that inevitable break up to make up to happier ever after!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      So love it is! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Maya☺

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Give me a gun and some bad guys and let me blow them apart.
    I’d much rather be a character in an action- thriller, I find cheesy love stories dumb (that’s me personally, nothing against those of u who like a good romance)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Some can be too cheesy, I agree. Thanks for passing by ☺

      Like

  13. inakitto says:

    Action packed, as long as am acting with Denzel Washington

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, it’d be great to work alongside him👍

      Like

  14. Action !!! all the way…however , there should be a little romantic twist in there

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ufuomaee says:

    Tough choice! I’m tempted towards action because it seems cooler and not too cheesy. But if the love story has a good plot with strong morals to share… I’d go for that instead. I think we need some real guidance in that department 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      True, we do… Love story with morals, that would be a great movie! Thanks, Ufo 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

