I 💜 My Name


image

#DailyPost: Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Do you love your name? Because I love mine. Sounds old a bit but not archaic (I think or hope so). Unlike most people as is customary in my society, I wasn’t named after any family relative. Some others also choose to name their kids after someone they deem honorable with the hopes that they would grow up to pick up their desirable traits.

My dad and I share a name along with some personality traits; strengths and weaknesses alike. I can’t imagine myself being called anything else.  Neither can I imagine any of my friends being called by different names. As temperamentally diverse as we are, our names sort of define us perfectly. Sometimes I wonder, do we define our names by our personalities or do our names determine how we turn out to be? Could be the same dilemma with the chicken and egg issue of which existed first.

I don’t know how my name came about; whether my parents planned it after finding out about my existence or the name spontaneously popped in their heads when I arrived but I’m grateful for the name regardless. I took a minute to Google the meaning of my name and I discovered something interesting. It actually has a French origin, which means “May Jehovah add;” according to sheknows.com. It was further confirmed by babynamewizard.com that Josephine means “God will add/increase.” I also read a couple of interesting definitions posted by various people on UrbanDictionary.com. I think I fell in love with my name…all over again. 😘

It’s refreshing to know my name is synonymous to increase and fruitfulness. I am also challenged to fulfill what my name entails in everything I come into contact with, be it a project or relationship (personal and professional). Let me know if you need a little Josephine in your life, ayt? 🙂

image
Photo credits to Google Images

I remember wishing I was given a ‘cool’ name back in primary like some of my colleagues (which I can’t even remember one now) because it made them look suited for the generation. But not being able to recall those names shows how irrelevant that is to me now. Now, one can’t help but be bemused what was going through the heads of some parents to name their kids the way they do these days. Some kids grow up to be as complicated as their names and though you can’t blame a name for how its bearer turned out, you can’t help but feel the parent did the child a great disservice in the first place.

I’m proud of my name and I hope you are of yours too. I think it brings out the best and worst in me in an imperfectly perfect way. It is not just a proper noun I write down or pronounce to introduce myself to others. It is my identity. I believe that’s how God sees me and expects me to be known by.

What does your name mean and how does it challenge you? Do you wish you were called by another name and why do you think so? Have you ever met someone who you think doesn’t wear his/her name right and should have been name differently? Please tell me; I’m dying to know!

29 Comments Add yours

  1. josiephin says:

    It means may God increase. My dad had his favourite…Joseph! The son of Israel. And he had always said he was going to name his son, Joseph…then i popped my head…its a girl!!!! Josephine-me!

    Like

  2. joymanda says:

    My name is Amanda and it means loveable, beloved or born to be loved. I can’t do without the name and nothing in this world will ever make me change it. And oh yes, it sure has a great impact on my life. I’m so loveable, I just can’t help it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, my best friend is called Amanda too and she wears the name so well! I love the name too! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Karuna says:

    My birth name was Carol. I don’t ever remember liking it. My spiritual teacher (guru) sometimes gives people names when they ask her for one so in 1990 I asked her to name me. She named me Karuna. That is a Sanskrit word that means compassion. I have loved having the name Karuna. It reminds me of what I strive to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I see… Compassion is a nice thing to strive to be. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  4. nogr8trlove says:

    I didn’t think too much of my name growing up, I mean lots of girls in school had the same name as me. When I first discovered what my name meant, I knew that was Gods name for me! My name is Lisa it means consecrated to God/ devoted to God! That’s exactly who and what I want to be!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Amen to that! 👐

      Like

  5. AtimMercy says:

    My name is Atim, which means Mercy/pity/forgiveness.
    I love my name, more so because my second name is Mercy so i am Mercy Mercy. Lol.
    I like to believe i wear my name well enough..
    I always have that side of me that believes even wrong doers did what they did because something drove them to do that, so they too, deserve abit of mercy… Another chance…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh nice! I guess we share the same sentiments about the actions of some wrongdoing. Double mercy is a good name ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Monica says:

    The meaning of my name makes me fall in love with it all over again; Monica. But I love it when people call me Monique cos its two syllabus, short and precise:)

    The Greek meaning is from the word mono which means alone and trust me, solitary is one of the things I can’t do without.

    I love the latin version. It comes from the word moneos meaning advisor…and I love doing just that. It also means cheerful and pretty!
    Such a nice name 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Alone and advisor sound great to me. I love the sound of Monique too😊

      Like

  7. My name is Victory, not “victoria” . I remember not liking the name at first and wishing it were the conventional Victoria every one knows where i dont have to say something to justify the curious look on their face. You know that “I’ve never heard that name before”look. But right now, i love my name so much because it serves as a motivation to me when i want to take a bold step and get scared “then i remember my name is Victory, i am already Victorious”.
    I would now end this now because you get the point. I love my name.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      That’s a powerful name, Vic and I’m glad you’re embracing it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Greatly appreciated ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Amanya says:

    My name is Amanya. It means ‘name’ in some language (Luganda) that’s not my mother tongue.
    So whenever those guys ask me what my name is, I reply Amanya.
    Them: What is your name?
    Me: Amanya *name
    I always love the look on their faces.
    Amanya- He knows/God knows (Rukiga)
    Amanya- Faith in God/ Artist of God (Hebrew)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Interesting meanings for your name. May your Amanya never waver in Jesus’ name. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  9. My name is Esther . There were so many Esthers in school growing up. but it means a ” star “. but i also go by Eseza / Esteri.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      A star sounds great! I’ve always admired the name because of the character in the Bible. Always reminds me of royalty. Keep on shining, star! 👐

      Like

  10. My name is Maulik that Means something unique, something different.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Unique sounds great; thanks for sharing yours ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Colleen says:

    Like you I also wanted a cool name and when i was in high school actually wanted to change my name to my middle name which is a name in my native language cause i loved how most of my friends had native names. anyway i’m waaaay past that and i love my name….it has a boring meaning though, it is Irish and means girl.

    Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Colleen sounds sweet and to have the Irish name for what you are doesn’t sound boring to me. Thanks for sharing yours with us! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Reyna H says:

    Your name is beautiful! My name means queen in Spanish. Growing up, kids used to make fun of me because of my unique name, but I’ve learned to love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Queen is amazing to have as a name. I’m glad you love it. ☺

      Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Just read your piece. Very interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you for reading ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

