Would You Rather # 5: Be a Kid or an Adult your Whole Life?


image

Each phase of life has its owns perks; and we all have memories of both-and may influence which one we would have wished to enjoy a little bit longer.

Let me start with childhood. What’s not to love being a kid? Well, it kind of depends on how easy or hard life was with everyone during that stage. Mine wasn’t all fun but I do have some fond memories. One of the fun parts of being a kid is getting what you ask without having to work so hard for it (unless you count the fake high-pitched wails just to get your point across).

Getting a new backpack, stationery, shoes, braids/haircut every new term would be the average kid’s school delight. Snacks, ice cream, toys whenever one had the craving. However the parent would cough up the money for his wants is not his headache. Being a kid had its own challenges-having to endure subjects you have no love for, preparing for tests, praying the teacher doesn’t call you out to answer questions especially when you have no idea what he was talking about the whole time, the whips you’d suffer on your backside because your name was on the class talkative list, I’m sure you have your own memories.

image

But skip forward to being an adult, those ‘hard times’ are just preliminaries to what living an adult life entails. In addition to school and/or work troubles, the burden of being responsible for yourself could be overwhelming. But it does have its fulfilling moments as well. Seeing through a set goal to the end makes you feel matured to handle things by yourself. You get to make your own decisions firsthand with counsel from parents if need be unlike childhood when the decisions are made for you and then you’re merely informed (not because they need your approval but just so you psyche yourself up to it).

Being a kid is fun but even the happiest one wants to grow up one day. It looks fascinating to be an adult and in charge of one’s affairs and I can remember myself wishing to grow up faster so I could get there. But you find out once you get in the ‘pool’, you realize it is not fun as you imagined it. You only begin to enjoy it when you’ve found a firm ground to hold you down despite the pool’s depth. And it could take years of experience and sometimes a whole lifetime to master that.

Some adults may wish they could be someone’s responsibility again; that someone could make the decisions for them considering the bad ones they made themselves. But the time is past and gone.

Considering that one’s adulthood is fairly longer than his childhood, I think I’ll go for being an adult. Even adulthood has its phases: young adulthood and then the ‘older’ generation. I get to choose out of the lot and be responsible for my choices. I get to influence the world with what I’ve got. I face the storms of life with my childlike faith and come out winning. I get to know people for their true colors but still do my possible best to live peaceably with all I come across. I get to be the true ME that I was created to be. I thank God for His surpassing wisdom for designing our lifespan to be the way it is. We get to live the best of both worlds and we learn from both.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

What about you? Forever young or grownup? Forever cute face or gray haired? Kindly share!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I would choose right where I am now, growing every day, and that I’m His child always.

    Enjoyed reading.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Great choice! Thanks for reading, Tahlitha!

      Like

  2. me says:

    Hm! Tough one. And Hahha, all those childhood memories, who doesn’t have those?

    The way I am now– at this point in my life, on some days, I feel like a child in an adults body and on others, it’s the other way around. And I think that feeling is just perfect. Sometimes all you need is the carefree attitude of a child, engineered by the consciousness of an adult mind…

    So, I say “Forever with the flow!” It’s perfectly fine to be both. And yes, possible too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Forever with the flow sounds like a good plan! 👍

      Like

  3. Amanya says:

    An adult. Kids cry and I hate cries. I hate sobs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Lol… Adult it is then! 👆

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AtimMercy says:

    I would be an adult anyday, anytime, forever..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Colleen says:

    Hmm this is a tough one…Childhood was pretty dope man, I had lots of fun. I would say instead of choosing, I would do childhood all over again then graduate to adulthood…lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Haha.. That would be nice, wouldn’t it?! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wayne Holmes says:

    Oh man, I think I’m gonna have to go with forever a kid. The imagination, optimism, lack of responsibilities. I mean, the only thing holding me back is that I actually enjoy my life right now as a happily married and proud father – so I would never give them up for anything.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Good for you! But childhood memories can get so fascinating! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Wayne! 👍

      Like

  7. debooWORKS says:

    I would rather be a kid turning into an adult my whole life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Sounds like a cool idea 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Ufuomaee says:

    I’d like to be at the point in my life where I am matured enough to make my own decisions, and when I’m experienced enough to know what I want and don’t want out of life. I don’t want to be a child, I want to be fully human!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      You make a very valid point 👍

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

