Would You Rather #2: be Poor and work at a job you Love Or be Rich and work at a job you Hate?


image

Oh, but why can’t I have the best of both worlds? That would be ideal, wouldn’t it? Unfortunately, only a few people enjoy such luxury of life. Most people get stuck in one of them and spend the rest of their working lives wishing they could be part of the other.

Some people prefer to engage in what  they enjoy doing which may not necessarily pay well. They are of the view that, their job satisfaction goes beyond the number of zeros on their salary cheques. As long as they feel fulfilled doing what they love, they are content.

But in a time wrecked with economic hardships and financial insecurity, I’m sure most people will choose the latter without thinking twice. Who cares about the inner satisfaction when taxes and tariffs are increased in multiples every month? Will the love of the job pay the bills? Will it put food on the table? Will it afford me the decent I deserve to live? I’m sure these are some of the questions running through your mind.

Poverty is too serious to take as a joke and in this century, one can’t afford to be poor if you want to do more than survive. People take risks and make sacrifices just so they would enjoy the prestige that the ‘rich’ enjoy. But is it worth it finding yourself ‘trapped’ working a job you hate because it keeps the cash flowing in?

image

Money they say, answers all things; nonetheless, the love of the money is the root of all evil. So where do you strike the balance between being satisfied with what you have and doing whatever it takes to get more than enough? And in this present age, is any amount of money ever enough not to work for more?

I am of the opinion that as long as you love what you do, there is a way to make much out of it so you don’t end up ‘poor.’ Some of the fulfilled decent income-earning individuals may not necessarily be CEOs of multinational corporations. They are the ones who have discovered their strengths and have sharpened them to bring in profit.

One person who particularly inspires me is Audrey Forson, the manager and furniture designer of Tekura. In a society where carpentry is considered a craft meant for the class of people who missed out on life’s educational and corporate opportunities, she has proven that as long as the passion for something exists, no matter how mundane it may look, can be turned into a profitable venture.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

Another school of thought would argue that a job you love or hate is a matter of decision. If a job is offering you a lifestyle others would kill to have, why would you hate it? As quoted in the Southpaw movie, ‘if it makes money, it makes sense.’ And if you choose to ‘love’ a job which keeps you buying provisions on credit and keeps you on the loan shark’s speed dial, then it’s up to you.

I’d say, go for the job you love but make sure it doesn’t keep you poor. If it does, the love will eventually evaporate and all you’ll be left with will be resentment as residue. And if you find yourself in a well-paying job you ‘hate,’ find at least one thing you enjoy doing on the job and capitalize on it. Draw enough motivation from it so the riches you gain from it can be fully enjoyed.

What do you think? Would you work for the love of it or the money would do just fine?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. O'Zionn says:

    I’d work for the love of it more than merely getting paid for what I do; of course money is necessary to survive but I believe a great deal of what survival is has been quite overrated.

    Because as you mentioned there are ways–great ways at that; to contentedly earn a good living out of doing what you love. And I also find that purpose is easily found in doing what we love, and purpose is more beneficial, eventually, not just to one person but several others.

    Of course, doing what you love without earning much may not be able help one pay the bills but one question is, what kind of lifestyle does one live so much that they can’t pay the bills? What constitutes the bills that one pays for?

    Most people, I guess, end up doing jobs they don’t like but get good pay for mainly because of their wants. They allow their wants to overshadow their needs. They want to live very luxurious lives when luxury isn’t a basic prerequisite for survival. We are made to think living contentedly means poverty or poor.

    It’s good advice to find one thing you love about a job you don’t like and capitalize on it, but with everything most of the valuable things which are hard to come by are the things we don’t see or can’t touch–the intangible things.

    I’d rather find myself doing something I love which is much more genuine from the start, live with a contented mindset while trying my best to make good money from it without falling in love with money.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      I totally agree with you. Thanks sharing your take on this. 👍

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hypothetical. I can not say what I would do with any degree of certainty. But I will say what I know. Nobody is loyal to their job anymore. People just work for the money. And sometimes that means taking what you can get until you get what you want.
    .
    Good question, Josey. God bless.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for sharing your view on this, Noel. Have a blessed week. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanya says:

    At the moment, it’s for the money. But ideally, if It was comfortable, I would want to do what I love regardless of the pay.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. joseyphina says:

      Totally understand. We need the money to stay afloat. Thanks for passing by, Amanya! ☺

      Like

  4. Colleen says:

    I would do a job I hate for a few days to make that paper then do a job I love…heck that’s a lie…I would do a job I love any day over one I hate just to be rich.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Nice one, Colleen. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. SmindlO says:

    Whatever enrhiches my soul….so better be poor

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ufuomaee says:

    I’ve only known one option in my life…working for the love of it. Maybe because I’ve been blessed with much, and haven’t really expressed hand to mouth poverty. But I think I would always choose passion over riches.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      We thank God for His blessings on your life. Thanks for sharing your view, Ufuomaee ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

