Study with Me


image
Photo credits to Google Images

#DailyPost: What is your learning style?…

Just like food and fashion favorites, people have varying tastes. Some people are outgoing and ‘wild n’ free’ in their choices; whiles others make safe and conservative choices. I definitely fall in the latter category but I try to be a big cheerleader for the former class as well. ☺

Likewise, people have varying preferences when it comes to learning styles. Some students grasp a lot right from the lecture room; others understand the simple words of their peers instead so take group study very seriously and some others prefer a private one-on-one interaction with a tutor. They are all good as long as it leads to a better topical understanding and ultimately, blowing the papers!

As private as I am, I like to study by myself (after lectures, of course). My years at the University of Ghana made me realize that group study doesn’t work for me. I would enjoy the interaction all right but my mind doesn’t register much of what was shared. Since I’m an avid reader, I can go over my notes over and over without getting bored. In fact, I’m not satisfied with myself till my mind can ‘recite’ the lines along with my lips. The longer my eyes stay glued to the pages, the better the quality of the ‘page photo’ in my mind’s eye (these photos came in really handy when I forget a keyword in the exam room). I’m an audio-visual person so presentations in bright colors are good for me. And my brain prefers to stick to a limited number of registered voices for storage. I guess that’s why group study doesn’t work for me. All the different voices confuses the brain and in the end, doesn’t give me much.

image

Also, a one-on-one interaction has proven to be a perfect revision tool for me. Thanks to having my best friend as a roommate for four years (I missed those times, Mandy! ☺), after having had personal study for some time, we would quiz each other from A-Z. This helped us to evaluate ourselves on which areas we have mastered, the ones which needed further study and the ones we didn’t understand at all. And with scenarios only we two could best understand, we painted vivid pictures in our mind which helped a great deal during exams.

Narrating this just made me nostalgic about campus and I wished I could go back! I really do miss studying and I can’t wait to do it again!

To be a good student, you have to know yourself and what works for you. Don’t follow the crowd to study together if you know it doesn’t work for you. If studying alone calls for a lot of distraction (like checking your WhatsApp, Facebook and Twitter pages every five minutes or taking a nap after every page), then it’s advisable you find someone or a group you feel comfortable learning with. And if you are study loner like me, help someone out when a colleague needs some clarification. In explaining to the person, you understand it better yourself and you become a topic of thanksgiving and blessing in the person in his/her prayer.

For all students starting a new semester, I wish you all the best! ☺

Josephine Amoako © 2016.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Edem says:

    Spot on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. O'Zionn says:

    👍

    Basically, it’s very beneficial to “know” oneself; one’s mental make up, how one likes to do things and all that.

    I guess I’m the study-alone-well type of person. And even though I don’t fancy group studies I find that I’m more useful after I’ve thoroughly studied on my own.

    It makes it easier for me to understand a topic more when I try to teach it to you someone else who has unique questions on their; I like to pose questions to each topic as much as possible to see it from different perspectives.

    Finally, I think studying is easier for me when I create acronyms for principles of a certain topic and what not. There’s a lot I could say, and just like what one lecturer said while he taught one time:
    “I think the education programme should teach you guys how to study.”

    I’ve never agreed more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      True. Thanks for passing by.

      Like

  3. M'afua Awo Twumwaah says:

    The post just made me miss UG too. I got off the campus hook only last year tho😇

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

