My Long Standing Resolution


image

#DailyPost: Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

January seems to be the universally accepted time to hit the refresh button; to start afresh with better hopeful attitudes and habit turnovers. We expect to feel different, the air to smell fresh and we expect others to look at us through ‘clean slate’ lenses. But as the years go by, we find out that 1st January is just another day after the previous day. Your boss still acts the same, the world news isn’t getting any better, your haters still aren’t big fans of whatever you’re doing and your family still loves you because….well, that’s what they are there for.

image

I used to get excited when a New Year was approaching because I got to set goals for myself which I’d promise myself to accomplish before the year ended. But year in year out, the enthusiasm with which I attack my targets begins to wane when the freshness of the year starts to feel stale. It feels disheartening when the morale to get things done is evaporating before your very eyes and there’s little you can do about it.

So I stopped with all of the lists but decided to work towards one grand goal: never stop being a working progress. That from 1st January to the next 1st January, I will strive to be a better person than I was 24 hours ago. Be a better Christian, a better daughter and sister, a better friend, a better writer, a better neighbor, a better citizen…in sum, a better human being.

image

And so far, I think I’m doing well. I accept that some days will be better and brighter than others; and the ground will not always be level, and my family and friends will not always be there to cheer me on but that’s okay. I can confidently smile at the storm and face the uncertainties that tomorrow might bring because I have handed my life keys to the One who lives in me and knows of me better than anyone else. Since He took over the wheels, my life has turned out to be series of testimonies.

When I fall short of anything, I ask for grace to catch up. When I step out, I ask for His presence to go with me. When I need to go through a closed door, I call for His favor to open it and take me through. It hasn’t been always easy but I found it much simpler making God take charge.

Becoming a better version of myself day in day out has not been easy because it means confronting myself and shedding parts of me which were essential yesterday but not any longer today. It requires evaluating myself constantly so I don’t stray away.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

So, if you ask me what New Year’s resolution I’ve ever kept, that would be it: never ceasing to be a working progress. To always remind myself that there’s room for improvement. And with God by my side, I know it’s not just possible; it’s achievable.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joel Jemba says:

    You can choose to write a list in consistence as well then count then! *smiles ear to ear* just kidding this is cool stuff, pretty impressive I must say!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Yeah, I could but I prefer it this way. Thanks for passing by, Joel. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joel Jemba says:

        always a pleasure, always!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jhaneel says:

    I think that’s a great goal. It certainly leaves a lot of room for interpretation and could include anything from the tiniest action to making some huge change. I like that it doesn’t put to much pressure on because you can do something everyday to make progress.
    I just wrote about New Year’s goals over on my blog, if you’re interested.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

