Growing Old, Staying Young


image
Photo credits to Google Images.

#DailyPost: What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

When I was little, I couldn’t wait to grow up. Being told when to take a nap during the day and when to go to bed at night were some of the things I never found amusing during my childhood. I remember daydreaming of the day I’d be in control of my life in the canonic sense and always prayed that the months would speed by. When I grew up, I realized there was more to life than unamusing bed routines. I started praying for the months to slow down when I realized that I couldn’t go back to being a child no matter how much I wished it. I was growing up way too fast. Silly lil’ me.

Since aging is inevitable, I believe it should be well-planned so it happens gracefully. There are thousands of books, recipes and talk shows about how to live a well-balanced life and how to slow down the aging process.

Although most of them seem to make sense, committing to a very rigorous regimen just so to look like you’re in your mid-twenties when you are way past your retirement age sounds like asking for trouble. My opinion though.

Growing old is not easy; having to adapt to all the changes that various life stages bring to the table. But the fact that your body is wearing out doesn’t mean you have to miss out on the life of the generation-in-vogue. You can keep your heart as young and strong to face the issues of this life head on.

It’s not easy to keep your heart safe and intact in our world filled with corruption, filth and everything else bad. Coming into contact with insensitive people can turn your heart of flesh into a hard piece of stone. Heartless, cruel people could play with your delicate heart, smash it into pieces and even when you think you’ve gotten yourself together, you can tell that you’re no longer the same person. The different scars people imprint on your heart could chip away parts of it leading to chronic emotional hemorrhage.

Although heartbreaks, disappointments and despair may be unavoidable in this journey of life, there is a certain way to keep your heart untainted. It is keeping it in the hands of the One who created you. Who else knows how to protect an object from harm better than the manufacturer?

So I have decided to enjoy life with all of its ups and downs. I’m not going to bother myself with how I’m going to turn out at the other end of the tunnel, through the fire and flood because the hands that hold the universe together are the same ones who are keeping my heart.

No hate or resentment will I allow to have an abode in my heart. Hate no one, trust a few and love all is going to be my goal. This way, I will keep my heart from getting wrinkled with the ugly residues of this world and anytime I feel burdened by anything, all I need to do is get a faith lift. And my God is always willing to replenish me.

This is my plan of aging gracefully. By God’s grace, I will grow old but will always stay young at heart. What about yours?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. freshie2 says:

    I love your blog especially the issues you tackle. And your passion and dedication for writing is very admirable. I want to write like you when I grow up.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more from you.

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you for passing by. I’m glad you love it. I pray we both become better writers in 2016. Have a great week! ☺

      Like

  2. freshie2 says:

    Amen. Thanks too.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

