Take Care of Me


image

#DailyPrompt: When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?
******************************************
Most people would love to be taken care of at their down moments; to be the centre of someone else’s attention and be pampered a little. Although the feeling within one’s bones might not be pleasant but it is one of those opportunities to find out how far someone is willing to go to make you feel better.

When I feel unwell which I rarely do (I’m so grateful to God for good health!), I prefer to handle it by myself. I’d admit that it feels good to have someone close to you check on you from time to time but most of the time, it makes me feel sorry for myself. I know they do so with the best intentions but the gesture makes me feel helpless and I don’t fancy that feeling at all. So I keep it to myself as long as I can and would only disclose it after the ailment is over.

image
Photo credits to Google Images.

But ironically, I love to take care of others when they are not feeling their best. I don’t mind putting the needs of others ahead of my personal convenience as long as it puts a smile on the face of the person. I don’t mind giving people their space when it seems they need it but when they ask for my company, I don’t hold back at all. I don’t help people so they would owe me favours. So I try my possible best to go the extra mile knowing very well that the favour would not be returned. If your question is why, I’d say I like to be strong for people at their weakest moments. I wish I could let someone in to take care of me the same way I do for others but I guess that’s just not me.

But that doesn’t mean that if I really need someone’s help, I wouldn’t ask for it. There’s a time and season for everything and I accept it when circumstances show that I cannot do it on my own any longer and I need someone’s hand to hold or shoulder to lean on to move forward. For me, it takes complete trust in our relationship for me to ask for help from anyone.  If I don’t consider you to be an ‘emergency contact’; someone I can count on no matter the time of day, then you are not my ‘go-to’ kind of person. Thus, I have very few friends; even fewer than the number of my fingers, I think.

This is because I believe to let someone in to take care of you at your lowest point is to display your vulnerable self to him/her without fear of being judged or exploited. I guess that’s why I try so hard not to become unwell. Maybe I’m scared of showing someone that side of me. Maybe one day, I can be able to do that without any doubt in mind.

Anyways, take care of yourselves and if you need someone to do that, don’t be afraid to ask! ☺

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

