Surveillance from the Inside Out


Photo credits to Google Images

We love to proclaim, “God, come live in me; God, let your presence surround me as I go about my day,” but do we really mean it? Do you really want God to see what you set your eyes on, do you want him to witness the thoughts that run through your mind as the day passes?

Listening to Michelle Williams“If We Had Your Eyes” song, it made me think of how futile it was worrying about my identity and place in this world when God already has already taken care of that even before I was born. If only we had God’s eyes, we wouldn’t bother ourselves with lots of things which leave us frustrated and feeling unfulfilled.

But it also got me thinking, if God was watching me through my very eyes, would he be pleased? Would he smile in pride if my thoughts were played on a loudspeaker for all to hear or would he bow his head in shame? Would he boast of me to the angels when he listens in to what I feed my mind through my ears?

When we get to our breaking point and give in to the various temptations, we hope that the Watcher of our souls isn’t looking at us at that moment. So we pretend to think that as long as no human eye sees what we’re doing, God’s eyes would be shut as well. Silly us!

So let’s not pretend that we are struggling with one thing or the other; denying you have a weakness only gives it a stronghold in your life. And let’s not pretend that our secrets are known to only us; that’s a pitiful deception.
Since knowing that we are accountable for our actions helps keep us on our toes and that we are under constant surveillance before the eyes of our Maker, we should beware of what we deliberately or unintentionally watch, hear, think and feel.

In whatever you find yourself doing, take a minute to ask yourself, “Would God like this? Does it make the suffering and death of his Son on the cross worthwhile?” And since we are living in the era of grace, let’s not venture into deliberate sins thinking that we’ll ask for forgiveness when we are done and guilt begins to haunt us. That’s dangerous; you may never know if you’d get the chance to pray for forgiveness since you don’t know what will happen in the next sixty seconds.

Let’s then live always conscious of the fact that we carry God’s Spirit and presence in and with us wherever we go so let’s not put the purity of God’s holiness into disrepute by our lifestyle. Watch what you see, check what you think about and be careful of you listen to.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. nogr8trlove says:

    I like reading things that make me think, I feel as though this would be a great discussion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joseyphina says:

    Thanks for passing by. 🙂

    Like

  3. in567 says:

    I concur widcha, sister. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks dear. Have a blessed week!

      Like

  4. josiephin says:

    That’s really insightful. God resides in us and therefore maybe we it’s time we start acknowledging His presence. Stay blessed josey

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      God bless you too, Josey. And thanks for passing by. 🙂

      Like

  5. Qoheleth says:

    This is beautiful. I like your mind for this script. Not many of us have given a thought of this surveillance, one that’s inside us to know our the ought before we even process it. Great writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Kweku. Greatly appreciate you passing by,

      Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m humbled. Thanks.

      Like

  6. sylviachika says:

    I love this! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Sylvia. Have a great day! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

