What Was I Thinking? XXXIX


wpid-images-14.jpeg

I laughed out loudly. I was enjoying a short story on Wattpad when I heard the doorbell ring. I looked up. Who could that be? The help had already left. I got up and walked to the door. The baby bump was really in the way now…my gait had changed drastically and I wasn’t proud of it. I opened the door.
“Hi!” I blinked hard.
“What are you doing here?”
“Your husband told me he was going out of town for a few days so I thought of checking in on you; you know, just in case you needed something.”
“That’s nice…but you shouldn’t have.”
“Are you going to let me in?” I hesitated for a second and opened the door wider. He entered.
“Oh, relaxing with some jazz tunes, huh?”
“Yeah…Adam, I don’t think you being here is a wise idea.”
He turned to face me.
“Why’s that? I just wanted to see how you’re doing.”
“And I appreciate that but I don’t think we should give Fitz reasons to suspect us.”
“But he’s not here.”
“Physically, yeah but who knows?”
“Are you saying he’s keeping tabs on you?”
“I can’t tell for sure but it’s better to be safe than sorry.”
“I’m sorry…I didn’t meant to upset with my visit.”
“It’s not that. I’d love to have you keep me company…as you can see, I’m all alone here.”
“And how’s the baby doing?” he asked softly, touching the bump.
“She’s fine.”
“She? You know that for sure?”
“No; but I wish it to be a girl. I hear they are less difficult to raise than boys.”
“I wish it to be a girl too…to see an infant of you would be nice.” I smiled. He held my hands and our fingers intertwined.
“I wished we could raise her together.”
“In a way, we would. Want a drink?”
“Don’t bother yourself with that. I’ll help myself.”
“Okay.” I sat down whiles he made his way to the kitchen. I picked up my iPad and resumed reading. He sat down a few inches from where my feet were lying and placed his glass down.
“Honestly, I came for my dose.” I looked up at him.
“Your what?”
“You do know you’re my muse, right?” I chuckled.
“I need to write something and I need you to help me.”
“Can’t Sabrina help?”
“Why would you bring her name up?”
“Why wouldn’t I? She’s a close friend, right? Surely you can draw some inspiration from spending time with her as well.”
“Do I sense a tinge of jealousy?”
“Why does everyone say that? I’m not jealous!”
“Everyone?”
“Fitz mentioned the same thing when I said I didn’t want to attend the last dinner we had together. But I’m definitely not jealous. I just think that being around someone else could give you a fresh outlook at things.”
“I’ll take that under advisement,” he said, taking out his notepad. I shook my head with a smile and resumed my reading.
After a brief moment of silence, Adam spoke up.
“Do you mind if I change the music?”
“You don’t like it?”
“It’s not really helping my flow…if you don’t mind.” I shrugged.
“Sure, help yourself.” I watched him connect his phone to the speakers.
“Hmm…nice track. One of yours?”
“No.” He sat down.
“What kind of life do you wish for our baby?”
“Are you going to write about the baby?”
“Maybe.”
“I wish her to be happy; to feel loved and protected and though the circumstances are far from the usual, she wouldn’t have to suffer the consequences of her parents’ actions.”
Adam nodded.
“Okay.” When he said nothing else, I went back to my reading. After sometime, I felt my neck cramping so I rotated it a few times.
“Are you okay?”
“Yeah; I just need to lie down a bit.”
“Okay.”
“You’d have to move.”
“I don’t want to.”
“I need space for my feet, Adam.” He placed a small pillow on his lap and tapped it.
“There…enough space.”
“Adam…”
“I’m not getting up…neither are you so you better get relaxed.” I stretched myself and placed my feet on his lap. I sighed.
“Better?”
“Oh yeah.” I closed my eyes.
“Is the music too loud?”
“Nah…it’s perfect.”

I woke up to a sweet smelling aroma from the kitchen. I got up and walked to the kitchen.
“Sleeping beauty finally woke up.”
“What are you doing?”
“Preparing lunch.”
“You cook?”
“Yeah…my mother used to tell me, you better learn how to cook for yourself. Who knows, your wife might be terrible at it.”
“Interesting…she may be right.”
“Do you cook?”
“I can manage noodles and eggs.” He laughed.
“So I guess my mum was right.”
“But your wife might be a great cook…you might never know.” He didn’t respond.
“Adam…I’m sorry that I can’t be what you want to be. I don’t know what the future holds for us but I hope this baby binds us forever.” He smiled at me.
“Yeah, I hope so too. Come and taste it.”
“Wow…you’re good.” He smiled boyishly as if he had heard the best compliment in the world.
“Aha! A guy dropped by with a letter for Mr. Daniels whiles you were asleep.”
“Which guy?”
“Looked like a courier. I left the envelope on the centre table.”
“Oh okay. He didn’t ask about me?”
“Of course he did. I just told him you were occupied.”
“Okay; thanks.” I rubbed my palms eagerly.
“I can’t wait to taste your handiwork, Adam.”
“I pray you won’t be disappointed.”
“Oh I doubt it.” He pulled a chair for me. I smiled thankfully and sat down. I watched him as he served me a plate.
“I can sense you ogling me, Mrs. Daniels.” I chuckled.
“You’re a sight to behold, Adam.” He smiled shyly and sat down.
“Grace?” He asked, offering me his hand. I put my hand in his and he held it firmly.
“Heavenly Father, we thank you for the gift of life and good health. We thank you for the food you’ve provided. We pray that it would give strength for Emily and the baby and may sharing this meal keep us closer in Jesus’ name, amen.”
“Amen. Lovely prayer.”
“Were you able to write something?” I asked when we began eating.
“Yeah, two actually.”
“Wow…nice!”
“Yeah, just rough drafts but I believe they will come out great.” I nodded.
“I think I hear your phone ringing.”
“It must be on the couch. Don’t mind it; I’ll call back after lunch.”
“Could be your husband.” I shrugged.
“I’ll call back.”
“Emily….”
“Fine, if you feel the need to, then please get it for me.” He quickly got up and went for it.
“It was Karen.” The ringing has ended. He gave me the phone. I put it down.
“I’ll talk to her later. I bet she was just checking up on me.” He sat.
“I really admire your friendship. She’s loyal.”
“Yes she is; I thank God for her every day.” His phone rang.
“Excuse me….Hey, Sabby…what’s up?”
So Sabrina was as loyal to him as Karen was to me. It was cute but I couldn’t help but feel a tinge of jealousy. I brushed the thought aside and concentrated on my lunch.
Adam checked his watch.
“Yeah sure; I’m having lunch with Emily. I’ll tell her; take care love. Bye,” he said and ended the call.
“Sabrina sends her regards.”
“Tell her they have been well received.”
When we were done, Adam was a darling enough to clear the table and wash the dishes. I really felt pampered.
We binge-watched a few episodes of Two and a half Men which left us reeling with laughter.
We sat in comfortable silence for a while. We stared at each other.
“You have to go,” I said. He nodded.
“But I don’t want to.”
“I don’t want you to either. I’m really glad you passed by.”
“And I’m glad to have spent the day with you.” I got up and gave him my hand. He took it and got up. He gathered his stuff and we walked to the door.
I kissed his cheek and he smiled. He touched my tummy.
“Take good care of her, will you?”
“I will,” I promised. I gasped in surprise when he got on his knee and kissed my tummy. I caressed his neck affectionately. He muttered something which I didn’t hear. I bit my lower lip to keep me from shedding tears. He looked up at me and I smiled.
“I love you, Emily.”
“I love you too, Adam.” He got up and held my cheek.
“Thanks for spending the day with us. We are very grateful.”
“Don’t mention it; daddy is glad to be here.” He kissed me. I wanted to pull away but I couldn’t. I held his shirt. Adam paused thinking I was going to push him away but when I didn’t, he kissed me again. The emotions boiling within me made me kiss him back. When we stopped, we were both out of breath.
“I’m sorry…I know I shouldn’t have but…”
“Don’t apologize. I needed it.” He planted a soft goodbye kiss on my forehead and left. I placed my hand on my chest and I felt my heart racing with excitement. I touched my lips and licked it. I knew what we had just done was wrong but nothing I’ve ever done felt so right.

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

