What Was I Thinking XXVI


wpid-images-14.jpeg

That night was the longest in my life. My mind kept cooking up the worst possible scenarios of how my soon-to-be future would look like and trust me, they were not pretty. And when I managed to shut my brain down, my sleep was tormented with scary nightmares. So I spent the whole night alternating between fighting my mind from scaring me with frightful images and having worse dreams. I woke up feeling more exhausted and frustrated than the day before. My body was cold with sweat. I sat up on the bed and buried my tired face in my palms.
“Good morning,” Karen’s cheerful voice rang out in my ears. I don’t know why but knowing that she obviously had a good night rest and was cheerful because of that irritated me. I simply got up and replied her with a loud slam of the bathroom door.
“Whoa, someone woke up in a foul mood,” I heard her say. I opened the tap and splashed water on my face. I dared to look at myself in the mirror and the dark circles under my eyes couldn’t be evident enough. No amount of makeup was going to disguise my struggle with sleep last night.
“Your phone is ringing, Em! It’s Fitz!” I groaned.
“Should I answer it?” She asked. It would be better if I did. I opened the door and as she handed the phone to me, the call ended. Just when I decided to call back, there was a knock on the door. I looked at Karen questioningly.
“It’s not James,” she replied me, making her way to the door. She opened it.
“Hi Karen. I’m sorry if I disturbed your sleep. I’d like to see my wife.”
“Sure, Mr. Daniels. Please come in,” Karen said, stepping aside for him. I stood rooted to the ground with the phone in my hand. Karen sent me a nervous glance. We hadn’t planned for this so no rehearsals were made. We needed a backup right this minute. Fitz entered the room and fixed his gaze on me. I swallowed hard.
“Hi. I was in the bathroom when you called. When I came out, the call ended. I didn’t mean to…”
“I know; from your wet face, I can tell you’re from the bathroom. You didn’t sound well when you called last night so I wanted to check up on you before leaving for the airport.”
“I was a little distraught but I’ll be fine.”
“You didn’t sleep well, did you?” He asked in a concerned tone, touching my face.
“Not too much,” I admitted.
“I know how bad this all looks so to show my support, I’d like to go with you to the hospital to take the test.” What? I turned a stunned face towards Karen who also was shocked.
“You don’t have to, Fitz. Karen will go with me. You have to go to the airport, remember?”
“I know but you and our marriage means a lot more to me than one business meeting. It can be postponed but this can’t.”
“That’s very thoughtful of you, darling but you don’t have to do that. I’ve got it covered.”
“I may not have to but I want to, Emily. I too couldn’t sleep well last night and the earlier we put this behind us, the better. Come on, freshen up; I’ll wait for you.” I turned a panicked gaze towards Karen, quietly pleading with her to bail me out of this. Fitz sat down.
“Mr. Daniels, I know this is none of my business but I’d advise you go ahead with your business trip. This whole situation is a bit messed up and I’m sure Em will be more comfortable with me by her side.”
“But I’m her husband.”
“I’m not disputing that. You should have seen her when she got here yesterday. She was all distraught and anxious. I had to calm her down to even eat a little something. I don’t want to be a third wheel here but I’m pleading with you to let me do this.” Fitz sighed and looked at me.
“Fine.” He glanced at his watch. “I guess I can still make it to my meeting. But promise to let me know when the results are ready.”
“Of course,” I said, my voice sounding faint and shaky. Fitz got up and hugged me.
“I love you, Emily.”
“I love you, Fitz. Have a safe trip and take care. Let me know when you arrive, okay?”
“I will, honey.” Fitz hugged Karen.
“Thanks for being such a good friend to my wife, Karen. I wished I had a friend who looked out for me like you do for Emily.”
Emily shrugged with a smile. “I guess every Emily need a Karen.”
“No doubt. Goodbye, dear.” I waved at him and he left the room. I gave a deep sigh of relief as I threw myself on the bed.
“Whew! That was close,” Karen said, sitting beside me.
“What do I do if I’m indeed positive, Karen?”
“I can’t believe you have such a great husband like Fitz and you still managed to cheat on him.”
“It wasn’t intentional, Karen. It happened once; it’s not like we were having an affair.”
“But that doesn’t count now, does it? Your one nightstand has brought forth a situation with no way out.”
“There is a way out of this, Karen…”
“Which is not an option, Em. Trust me, you don’t want to go down that road.”
“Well, the road I’m on right now is spiraling fast towards hell. What difference would another bad route make?”
“Enough, Emily! We are not terminating this baby!” Karen shouted, sounding very agitated.
“And for the nth time, there’s no ‘we’ in this issue. I’m the one pregnant, not you!”
Karen got up and entered the bathroom. Tears filled my eyes.
I didn’t want to go down that road either but what other choice did I have?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Seyena says:

    Aww, “Every Emily needs a Karen”. I feel bad for Emily but she has been too stubborn.
    Luckily, she has Karen by her side. Nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks. I’m glad you liked it ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

