What Was I Thinking? XIX


image

I think time froze or was ticking in an extremely slow motion because in a blink, I saw the muscles on Adam’s face tense when our eyes met. Oh I wished I could swoon at that very moment but my feet surprisingly stood as strong as never before.

My phone beeped and I took a quick glance at it.

Guess what, God just sent me a producer! Can’t wait to tell you all about it, it read. I swallowed as I looked back up. He just stood there, staring blankly at me. I couldn’t read his face so I couldn’t tell what was going through his mind at the moment. I watched in helpless dismay as he squeezed the life out of his phone. He was definitely taking out his rage on the poor phone. I didn’t even realize Fitz had walked up to me and kissed me on the cheek but his grip on my waist shot me right back to reality.

“Adam, this is my lovely wife, Emily.”

Adam blinked twice and took a step towards me. He stretched his hand and I took it.

“Nice to meet you, Mrs. Daniels,” he said coldly. I felt my hand get numb as he decided to squeeze it subtly but painfully. I suppressed a moan and winced. He released my hand after he was satisfied that I had received his message as expected. Fitz was still talking but nothing he said made sense to me.

“Please let’s sit and enjoy this wonderful meal, shall we?” Fitz said.

“Yes sir,” Adam said and sat. He continued to glare at me as I sat. I realized my hands were trembling. I fisted my hands so he wouldn’t notice. I suddenly felt sick. I was sweating despite the air-conditioner working perfectly. Fitz called Mary to come and serve us.

“So you’re welcome to my abode, Adam,” Fitz said with a broad smile.

“You have a lovely home and a beautiful wife,” Adam complimented.

“I do, don’t I?” Fitz said proudly. I rolled my eyes in my head. Couldn’t he just stop talking for a minute?

Because Adam and I sat facing each other, I found it very difficult avoiding his accusing glare, leaving me with no option but to stare at the laid table.

”Emmy darling, why don’t you say grace?” Fitz asked.

“Um…sure.” We held hands and I mumbled my way through.

As we ate, Adam gabbed about how he got in touch with Adam. I pretended I was paying attention by nodding and faking interest. That helped while away the time without having to endure Adam’s cold stares. But that changed when Adam asked,

“So how long have you two been married?”

“Oh not that long….about seven months.”

“I see; you two seem like a happy couple,” he said, glancing at me. I sipped at my drink to avoid having to comment on that.

“Oh yes we are. We first heard of you when we came to the stage play show where you performed.”

“Uh huh.”

“And I’ve been talking about you ever since. Isn’t that true, honey?” I forced a smile.

“Are you always that quiet?” Adam asked, looking squarely at me.

“Forgive her; I didn’t tell her I was bringing you over so it must have taken her by surprise to see you in her home. And did you know, she was a bit skeptical about me reaching out to you?”

Oh no. I dropped my fork in exasperation. He shouldn’t have said that.

“Oh really? Why’s that?”

“She was a bit doubtful about how far we could go as a team considering how your colleagues behave when you become famous. That was why I invited you here so she could see you for herself. Hopefully, you would prove her wrong,” Fitz said.

“Gladly,” Adam replied, giving me such an icy stare that sent shivers down my spine.

Enduring the combined torture of Fitz’s never-ending irritating blabbing and Adam’s sharp comments and hot glares, I realized how awful it would be to end up in hell. I must definitely change my ways before I end up there. Seriously.

I was slightly relieved when dessert was over as I tried to busy myself with clearing the table with Mary.

“I’ll let the driver take you home. Wait a minute, I’ve something to give you,” I overheard Fitz telling Adam. I walked to Adam when I saw Fitz enter the bedroom.

“Adam…I know there are a lot of questions going through your mind right now. All I’m asking is a chance to explain myself,” I said with the softest tone I could muster.

“Oh yeah, would you care to do that right now?” We both looked up when the door opened and Fitz came out. I took a step back.

“Oh, I can see you two are bonding already. I told you, you would like him when you met him, honey,” Fitz said, coming down the stairs.

“Uh huh.”

“Well, it was a pleasure meeting you, Mrs. Daniels,” Adam said. I felt my heart break when all I could is his eyes were rage, hurt and disgust. I nodded, guarding myself from bursting into tears right there. I started up the stairs as Fitz walked him out. Before he stepped out, he stole a glance up at me and for that nanosecond, I was glad that he cared enough to look at me once more time before leaving. At least there was hope. Today had been a long day. I’d have to deal with this another day.

I threw myself on the bed and sighed. It could have gone worse but I was grateful that Adam behaved himself. After all, it was in both of our interests that he did. Oh God, what had I gotten myself into? So He didn’t listen to my prayer after all. Well, I had it coming. Sooner or later, this was bound to happen. Sooner was better. I could deal with its consequences and move on with what was left of my miserable life. My phone beeped. I quickly took it when I saw it was a message from Adam. But my heart sank when it simply read: we’re done.

Before I realized, I was calling him. It was ringing when Fitz entered. I canceled the call and stood with arms crossed. Fitz paused, sensing all wasn’t well.

“Okay, what did I do wrong?” He asked innocently.

“Well, the next time you’re bringing someone over, do well to give me a heads-up, okay? You totally blindsided me!”

“Yeah I know but I think it was a pleasant surprise. I noticed you were a little tensed at first but before he left, you had warmed up to him. Trust me, he’s a good kid.”

“And telling him I was skeptical about him? Was that really necessary?”

“I’m sorry; I tend to tittle-tattle a lot when I’m excited but I don’t think he took it seriously.”

“Uh huh, I realized that. Too late to do anything about it, I guess,” I fumed and entered the bathroom and slammed the bathroom door shut just for emphasis.

“Even if he did, it’s good because it would keep him on his toes so he wouldn’t mess up our partnership,” he said in a lame attempt to justify his actions.

“I’m sorry, honey. I didn’t mean to make you feel comfortable.”

“Just shut up,” I said to myself and turned on the shower. My life was on fifth gear and I should control of the wheels before I crashed. But what if it was too late?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kim Sweeting says:

    I could feel the tension…:)

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

