What Was I Thinking? XVIII


image

I entered Karen’s hostel room to find it empty. Where could she be? She must be snuggling in James’ arms. Such a needy girl, I thought with a shake of the head. I took out my phone and sent her an SOS message. I threw myself on the bed and waited.

The door opened and Karen entered about ten minutes later.

“You sure took your sweet time,” I said.

“Well, I was on cloud nine when your text came in and it kind of takes some time get back down, you know.”
I arched a brow, gazing at her questioningly.

“I’m still a virgin in case you were wondering.”
“I wasn’t. Eww, you just had an image of you two and that feels so wrong!”
Karen laughed as she sat beside me.

“So what’s up?” Karen asked. I only stared at her.

“Why does something have to be up?” I asked after some seconds.

“You sent me an SOS for crying out loud! Don’t tell me you called for me because you didn’t want to be alone here.”
I shrugged. She smacked my arm.
“Seriously? You took me away from the arms of my sweetheart because you are such a spoilt brat? You know what happened to the boy who cried wolf, right?”

“Um…I’m no boy and I didn’t cry wolf,” I said with a smile. She smacked my arm again. She stood up to leave and I quickly held her hand and pulled her back down.

“Okay, I’m serious now. There’s fire on the mountain, Karen.”
“Spill.”
“Fitz wants to sponsor Adam’s music career.”
“Huh?”
“I don’t know what the hell he saw in him on that stage that night. He’s pretty determined about it. I tried changing his mind by suggesting other avenues to invest his money in but something tells me his mind is made up.”
“This is bad. What is it about Adam that fascinates him?”
“I don’t know…he said something about being a part of his success story.”
“Well, it does seem you two have similar tastes. He admires his music, you…everything else. You two are not that incompatible.”
“I’m serious, Karen. What do we do?”
“We?”
“Uh huh, partner in crime, remember? For better for worse forever.”
“We’re not a couple, honey.”
“Tell me what to do, Karen. I’m out of ideas. I feel like I’m losing my mind. I think I need some rehab time.” Karen snorted.

“It’s not rehab; you need Jesus. When was the last time you went to church?” I thought for a moment.

“The last time you dragged me there.”
“That’s like two months ago! Seriously, Em?”
“Don’t blame me. Fitz isn’t a motivational factor either.”
“So what does he do on Sunday mornings?”
“He sleeps in. He only goes when he’s being invited to chair some sort of fundraising event which I must say he honours rather generously.”

“I see. If he goes ahead with his plan, I’m afraid this is out of your…our hands. We can only pray things don’t turn ugly.”
“Pray? That’s our first option?”
“In fact, prayer is our only option.”

“Then I might as well just give up because I know God isn’t my biggest fan at the moment. This would be a great opportunity to show his displeasure with me,” I said in despair.

“He will forgive you if you ask for His pardon. He’s not wicked to withhold that from you.”
I nodded. God, please hold my life together before it all starts crumbling down, I prayed inwardly. I closed my eyes for a moment.

“You’re being unfair to both of them, you know that? You’re standing in the way of Adam’s progress and you’re preventing Fitz from helping someone out”

“I know,” I said quietly.

“You’ll be fine. Whatever happens, I’ve got your back.”
“Of course. You don’t really have a choice,” I said, opening my eyes.

“You really don’t know how to play pathetic, do you?” I laughed.

“Thank you, Karen. I don’t know how my life would turn out without you.”
“Well, it would have been much better if you had listened to some of my past counsel.”
“Yes, I admit that. I have made some poor choices but you’ve still stuck with me. I’m grateful.”
“Aww…you are so cute when you act all appreciative.” I smacked her arm playfully.

“Ouch! That hurt!” I giggled.

 

I got home to find Mary, the house help busily preparing some meals.

“Good evening, Mary. What’s going on?” I asked.

“Your husband called to inform me that he’s bringing someone over for dinner so I should get things ready.”
“Oh really? He didn’t tell me. Let me help with the table setting.”
“Thanks, madam.”
We were almost done when Fitz arrived.

“Hi honey, guess who is coming for dinner!” Fitz announced. I lifted my head and froze.

So did he. I swallowed hard.

“Hi,”  I greeted weakly.

 

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

