What Was I Thinking? XII


image

So for the next two weeks or so, I went on a contact strike with Adam (without his consent, of course) to appease my dear friend. Luckily for me, it worked because Karen laid off my case for a while. But unfortunately, it was either Adam wasn’t getting the message that I wasn’t interested in our little ‘thing’ anymore (which I so was!) or he was refusing to be put aside. And did I tell you, I like a guy who fights for what he wants? I like, I like, I like!

This ‘strike’ was making my fingers itch each time my phone beeped so bad that I was beginning to think I was experiencing some kind of Adam withdrawal syndrome. During the day, I was able to resist the temptation of picking the phone up and getting to hear the Adamic husky voice I had become hooked up on. But at night, when I’m lying on my bed wide awake (one of the awful symptoms being insomnia), I’d read all the messages he had sent with varying emotions ranging from sweet, desperate, angry to hurt. My heart broke with each one and how I wished I could help soothe his pain. But I knew Karen was right. I wasn’t being far to Fitz and even Adam. Each of them deserved better than an indecisive girl like me. But they both want a little young me, so I haven’t done anything wrong, have I?

 

Karen gave my phone a sideway glance as it beeped so much that it almost fell off the bed.

“Haven’t called it off with him, have you?” She asked.

“I’m giving him the silence treatment. Hopefully he’ll get the message.”

“And if he doesn’t? Maybe if you told him you are a Mrs., he might back off.”

“Not relevant. He’ll stop.” But every nerve within me wished him not to as I put it on silent. Thankfully, Karen let it lie. I kept stealing glances at the screen whenever it came alive. Why should I even be doing that when it is my own phone?! Maybe it was time to go back home.

Later during the day, my phone rang.

“You’ve changed your alert tone?” Karen asked as I picked it up.

“No; I assigned a different one for my hubby,” I said as I opened the message.

“Hubby, huh? Do I sense some fondness in your voice? You miss him, don’t you?”

“Of course I do. He’s better company than you.”

“Oh really, how exactly?”

“Oh you wouldn’t want to hear the details, honey.” Karen shook her head with a smile on her face as she turned her attention to the book on her lap.

“He’s arriving tomorrow afternoon. He wants me to come pick him up. Care to join me?”

“Um…I kind of have some plans for tomorrow, thank you.”

“He’s taking you out?”

“Not necessarily; we’re spending time together.” I snorted.

“Campus love; never evolves.”

“Falling in love with a father-figure to overcome childhood daddy issues; never grows old.” I dropped my phone out of shock. Karen burst in laughter.

“I win…all the time.”

“That was mean; below-the-belt mean,” I said, feeling hurt. She blew me a kiss which I ignored. I took my phone and started to type a very emotional text to Fitz whose absence was beginning to take a toll on me. Or was it because I was being deprived of my daily needed dose of Adam’s attention? Either way, I needed a dose now and it seems the only one available to me is the one I got married to.

The following day, I managed to convince Karen to come with me to the airport.

“Why do you need me to come with you again?” Karen asked as I drove.

“To cover up for me just in case the world gets too small.”

“What do you mean?” I shrugged.

“You never know, I might end up bumping into someone I shouldn’t be meeting.”

“Like Adam? Come on, what are the odds? I know the world is such a small place but it definitely isn’t that tiny. Even if that were to happen, why should you involve me? You made your bed, you should lie in it.”

“You’re my best friend, Karen. You are supposed to look out for me.”

“I am not your partner in crime. You don’t even pay me for my services.”

“That is the second reason why you’re coming with me. Fitz might have a package for you. The perks of marrying a father-figure to overcome childhood daddy issues-works every time.” Karen gave me a conceded smile. I smiled triumphantly.

 

We picked Fitz up at the airport and I realized how much I had missed him. I held onto him tightly when we hugged because I missed being in his broad warm arms.

“I missed you too, honey,” he said after I had whispered same to him.

We sat in the back seat whiles Karen drove us. I could see her eyeing us from the mirror but I was snuggling too comfortably in the arms of my hubby to care. I’d sort her out later. After a few chats, Fitz asked to be driven to a supermarket to get something. Karen and I went to the washroom.

“I can’t believe you’ve turned me into your chauffeur,” Karen was saying when I opened the door for us to get out. Who I saw made me quickly retreat my steps and close the door.

“What is it?” Karen asked, alarmed.

“You know when I said I’d need you to cover up for me if the world got too small? I think the time is now.”

“What do you mean?”

“I think I just saw Adam a few meters away.”

“Oh come on, your withdrawal syndrome includes hallucinations now?”

“I’m serious, Karen. Even if I were to be losing my sight, I’d still recognize Adam from a mile away. That’s how much of his image is etched into my memory.”

“God have mercy on your soul. Check again, maybe he left.”

“What if he sees me? He can get quite passionate.”

“Isn’t that your type?”

“Very funny.” I opened the door two inches wide and took a peek and closed it again.

“He’s still there, he’s taking his sweet time examining the items.”

My phone rang. It was Fitz. I answered it.

“Where are you two?” He asked.

“Still in the washroom. We’ll be out in a minute.” I ended the call.

“See how you’re sweating? That’ll be your daily temperature if you keep this dangerous game up.”

“Not now, Karen. I need you to distract him so I can walk out.”

“Excuse me? I’m not the kind of girl who flashes smiles at supermarkets or the type that guys would usually pay attention to.”

“Well noted; that’s why your boyfriend is who he is.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“Not now, Karen; we need to act now. I know you’re not that kind of girl but you can be a pretty good actress when you want to be.”

“And this isn’t one of them.”

“Please Karen, I know this is too big of a favor but I promise to return it in a big way.”

“Like an iPhone 6 kind of big?”

“Whoa…someone is getting exploitive.”

“It isn’t my husband waiting outside for me.”

“Okay fine, we’ll renegotiate on that. Please?” Karen gave an exasperated sigh.

“Fine. This is a one-time offer. It will never happen again.”

“I’ll make sure of it.” I opened the door for her to walk out. A minute later, my phone beeped. She had sent me a text message telling me the coast was clear. I hurriedly walked out and got into the car.

“What is going on? Are you okay?”

“Oh yeah; we just got a little held up.”

“What about Karen? Where is she?”

“She’ll soon be here. I know you’re tired from your flight. We’ll take you home soon.”

“Okay.” Karen opened the door and got into the driver’s seat. I looked at her curiously.

“Good to go.” She started the engine and took off. We stared at each other in the mirror. I mouthed a ‘thank you’ to my dear friend. She just shook her head and kept her eyes on the road.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Good read, I remember days like that lying for friend. SO don’t miss them days. Thank you for sharing.. God Bless:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, dear. God bless you too.

      Like

      1. You very welcome 🙂

        Like

  2. Shereen says:

    I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad you did. 🙂

      Like

  3. Elise says:

    Can we have a daily update? lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hmmm….will see about that. Thanks for passing by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennifer says:

    If you can arrange them so they follow,I will be very happy about that…..Great piece. Wish I could write like this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Hi Jennifer, all the chapters have been put under the title category under stories. I hope that helps. Thanks for reading.

      Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Alright….thanks. Cant stop reading

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Pleased to know! ☺

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

