Broken and Damaged


image
Photo credits to sysministries.inc.wordpress.com

Robbed of my innocence at an age so tender that

My little mind couldn’t comprehend what exactly I had lost;

Grew up in the harshest of environs so full of thorns that

I didn’t need to brand my skin with tattoos to make a statement;

Since my scars already did a perfect job at that;

 

Affection was a foreign culture to me;

All I knew was what it is called ‘tough love,’

Beaten and manhandled just because;

Woke up feeling less alive with each passing day;

Not a zombie but certainly felt like the walking dead;

 

I was broken beyond repair but I never gave up hope

That I would one day find someone to mend me up;

After going round in circles for years non-stop;

I finally admitted that like clay, I needed remolding;

But in whose hands would I commit myself to other than

The Potter’s who made me in the first place?
 

image

Life as mysterious as it is seems unfair but we are living it;

As long as it keeps on playing, we must dance to the tune;

The fact that all you’ve known are thorns doesn’t mean

Flowers do not exist; neither does it mean your bed of roses

Does not have thorns in it simply because they are beautiful;

 

 

You may be broken but you are not damaged goods yet;

You may have lived with thorns but soon you’ll be offered bouquets of flowers;

You may have been scorched the sun’s heat but you’ll soon find rest from the moon’s soft glimmer;

It is said he who laughs last laughs best;

Life may play unfair but the One who made you is faithful.

 

No one is perfect; no one has it all together;

There is always one chip threatening to crumble everything down;

Probably stood for nothing and thus went in for practically anything;

But if you would just take a stand today;

Your tag could change from being “a hopeless case” to “a miracle story.”

 

The sun’s rays and the heavy storms may have cracked you up;

But as long as the Potter lives, so do you;

All you have to do is let Him remake you;

Remove all the scars and wipe the pain away;

And they will all be but a faint memory…

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful Joseyphina… I just added this post to the “Other Bloggers” section of my website. God bless you sister!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I appreciate it, Vincent 🙂

      Like

  2. Many thoughts on brokenness, Josey! A surety of life in each one’s journey. Thanks for sharing them. It’s nice to rub shoulders with you!

    Blessings,
    Jeanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      So nice to hear from you, Jeanne! Stay blessed. 🙂

      Like

  3. Kim Sweeting says:

    Beautiful and powerful….:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I cried beautiful spiritual tears of happiness Phina. Your poem and its message is very meaningful and so outstanding. Thanks for the spiritual hug my sister! You heart radiantly shines!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      And God bless you for passing by. 🙂

      Like

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

