What Was I Thinking? IX


image

The situation between Fitz and I became so awfully worse that I hardly saw him anymore. It was like playing hide-and-seek but unlike the one played by kids which is usually characterized with giggles and the feeling of having fun, ours was marked with the urge to just avoid running into each other. Trust me, it’s no fun…at all.

But our little squabble didn’t deter me from still using his card. I’m shameless, huh? News flash, I don’t care! As twisted as it sounds, it was my way of feeling him close to me; I still felt like he was a part of me whenever I took it out to make payment. I know, it’s twisted.

One morning as I was dressing up to go out, I stared at the sparkling rings on my finger and without thinking, took them off. I blinked hard, realizing what I had just done and just stood there, staring at the rings in my hand. I knew this was a bad sign for me to take them off like that. But as if a switch had been turned off in my system somewhere, I felt no qualms about dropping them in a jewelry case and taking off.

I happened to go the mall alone since Karen and her boyfriend had plans for the weekend. Who was I to get in the middle of that? Karen wouldn’t have minded giving them up for me but I figured that would be selfish of me to deprive her of her own sweet time with her guy because she would sacrifice it for me. After all, I got married and left her, right? But now that I was sitting alone, slurping my drink idly, I kind of   regretted talking Karen out of backing out of her plans with her guy. I suddenly felt single again and I didn’t miss it…especially during times like this. And my naked finger made me even feel worse. But my fate was about to change.

“Hello lady, do you mind if I sit with you?” A smooth voice behind me spoke which got me turning my head 180 degrees. I opened my mouth to speak but no words came out. I almost whistled but thank God for depriving me of that ability when creating me or else I would have embarrassed myself right then. I’m sure He did that just to save me from myself. All I could do then at that time was to flash him one of my charming smiles and blink like my whole life depended on it.

“Can I?” He asked again, realizing that I was just looking at him. He gestured to the empty seat across me and I remembered what he had said a few seconds ago.

“Sure, of course.”

“Thank you.” He sat down and offered his hand.

“I’m Adam.”

“I’m Emily.”

“Nice to meet you, Em,” he said with a smile.

“Same here.”

“Waiting for someone?” He asked curiously and sucked on his straw.

“No. I’m here alone.”

“Okay good; I didn’t want to find myself overstepping into anyone’s territory.” He took a quick peek at my hands and added, “And from the look of things, you’re not taken.”

I glanced at my naked finger and smiled. Nothing just happens, does it? I asked myself. He began talking and I focused my attention to him.

Gosh, wasn’t he cute! Where was he when I was left to die by that jerk Tony? If only I had met him instead of Fitz….snap out of it, Emily!

Adam. I immediately fell in love with the name. It wasn’t one of my favorite names but I don’t know, maybe it was the way he mentioned it. If it were ice-cream, how I would savor it! Like Tony, we hit it off instantly. I felt totally at ease with him around and I started laughing at his jokes. And, one charm I do have is my laughter. The guys always fall in love with my laughter. So maybe, I knew what I was getting myself into when I gave him a dose of my charming chuckles and giggles.

“Care to give me your number?” He asked, offering his phone. I hesitated for a split second but took it and typed it.  I knew it was a bad idea but since I had already made a bad choice, why not just continue? What could possibly be with wrong with that? The world wouldn’t come to an end because of this. I handed it back to him.

“Thanks. I can’t wait to call you already,” he said. I smiled as I took my purse and my sunglasses from the table.

“I really enjoyed your company, Adam. I do hope we get to meet again. Enjoy the rest of the day.”

“I will…thinking of you.”

Wow, smooth. My upgraded status into a Mrs. had made me forget how tingly it felt to be wooed. Why did I get married again? I gave him one of my sweet smiles and walked away, making sure to flaunt my well-endowed God-given hips since I knew he would be watching. Oh, I suddenly miss being single!

On my way out, some killer dress caught my attention. I immediately dipped into my bag in search of Fitz’s card. Aha, now I remember why I got married (huge smiley). I turned to look Adam as he still sat at where I had left him and wondered what was wrong with having both. I shrugged as I entered the shop. There was a lot of time to answer that.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Terry says:

    had me going from beginning to end

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I’m glad to know that, Terry. Enjoy the rest of your day. 🙂

      Like

  2. Kim Sweeting says:

    Dangerous stuff…:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 🙂

      Like

  3. Sena Ikechukwu says:

    Hmmmmm what a lovely piece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thank you for reading, Sena. 🙂

      Like

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for passing by, Amoafowaa. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. amoafowaa says:

        Pleasure all mine.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. iamsleeky says:

    Nice piece 👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good read, can’t wait read the next chapter. GOD Blesd

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Oh thank you! I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You welcome… you truly talented…God Bless

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        God bless you too.

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

