The Love Child


image
Photo credits to Google Images.

I was the one no one wanted: rejected by daddy because he already has his perfect little family; despised by mummy because I was just a complication in her already messed up life. Her hope was that I would be accepted so she could get her daily bread using me as a valid ticket. But her plan backfired and here I was, a plus one that she couldn’t afford to feed.

And as for my supposed half-siblings, all I saw in their eyes was disgust as if I was the latest biological weapon yet to analyzed and named. Whenever our eyes met, all I wanted to do is coil away into a shell so their hot glare wouldn’t burn me away. How I wish I was born with one!

If it was only the dejection of my family I was cursed with, I would have been content. I would have been able to live with it. After all, what else could I do?  I also had to deal with the ostracism of neighbours. Whenever I passed by, the busybodies would leave whatever they were doing and start pointing fingers at me. And they tagged me as the “the offspring of The Other Woman.” Indeed, observers are worried! Why can’t people with their own hidden skeletons mind their own business? Perhaps, my presence made them forget their personal problems because apparently, I was the worst thing to have ever happened to humanity.

And I wondered, why should I be punished for my parents’ mistakes? Even they were going on with their lives. Why can’t they leave me be? Here I was with no father’s name and hence no identity. All I had left was my will to carry on and make a name for myself.

And God been so good, life smiled at during my latter years. I found a wonderful husband and built a lovely family. It became the paradise that I was robbed of as a child. But as it is said, even the sun sets in paradise. The smile on my face vanished when I opened the door to a knock and found myself staring at another woman with a little girl. Then out of nowhere, the terrible memory I had buried deep in my brain came rushing back to me. I can’t believe I am looking at myself from years ago.

What do I do? Do I slam the door in her face just as it was done to me decades ago or should I let her in and give her the childhood I never had? Any advice?

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. amoafowaa says:

    Take her in. She has no fault just as you and I had no fault in ours. Your husband made the mistake of betraying you. Men the world over are sex beasts. Some are just able to discipline themselves. That’s all. And two wrongs make no right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks for the advice. Appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. amoafowaa says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

