What Was I Thinking? VI


image

So here I was, 24 hours earlier, a carefree girl going out of her way to date a much older man and now a married woman. I guess it didn’t really registered in my mind what I had gotten myself into. It dawned on me the following morning when I woke up and found Fitz sleeping beside me. I sat up startled and stared at the rings on my finger. Fitz woke up and saw my distressed self. He put his arm around me.

“It’s okay, Emily. I know it’s now sinking in. your life isn’t going to change much. I will make sure of that. You can still be the same person you were before we got married. I promise you that much.”

His words helped a bit since my breathing got much easier. I nodded. He made me lie back down. Fitz dozed off a few minutes later but my eyes were as wide open as they could be. I lay still and watched Fitz enter the bathroom. Then I sprang up and reached for my phone.

Karen answered at the third ring.

“Hello, how’s it going over there, Em?”
“What have I done, Karen?”
“Huh? Is everything okay?”
“Why didn’t you stop me?”
“Okay, now you’re scaring me. What happened? Did he turn all kinky on you last night? I wouldn’t be surprised…”
“No, no, no…it’s not that. You know me. Why did you let me go ahead with this?”
“Trust me honey; I tried. I guess you were still under the spell of wearing the white dress and walking down the aisle. Are you telling me the spell has been broken already?”
“You’re not making me feel any better, Karen.” Karen laughed.

“You’ll be fine. Just freshen up, get some good breakfast and enjoy the day. Your world hasn’t come to an end.”
“I’ll try that.”  Emily heard Fitz call out her name.

“Sorry; got to go. My husband calleth.” Karen laughed.

“Sure; take care dear.” The line went dead.

The honeymoon was as enjoyable as I wanted it to be. Oh, the perks of grabbing an already made man! No worries about money and budgeting for every little expense. Just point a finger and it is yours. And Fitz was as fun-loving as I wanted him to be. Or so I thought.

As soon as we got settled in our matrimonial home, he went straight to work. Actually, he buried himself in it. It didn’t bother me much as long as he made his MasterCard available. Before I realized, the long vacation was over and school had resumed. Although a part of me hated the fact that I was still a student, I was somewhat glad that I could find something worthwhile to do with my time and brain and I could get to hang out with Karen again.

I threw myself on the bed when we entered the room. Karen put her bag down and sat.

“That lecture was awfully long today,” Karen said.

“It felt like the time was crawling…literally. Gosh!”

“So how’s Fitz doing?”
“Fine; he’s been working a lot lately though.”
“But at least you two get some time together, right?”
“Well…mostly not but I found something to occupy my time with. Shopping!”
“Doesn’t it bother you that you two are not spending much time together, especially when you still qualified as newlyweds?”

I shrugged dismissively.

“Well, I knew him to be a workaholic before I said ‘I do,’ so I guess it’s my cross to carry. And besides, he’s working hard for me to have a comfortable life, right? Who am I to complain?”
I knew my defense was lame and weak but what else could I do?

“Is that all you want out of this marriage? Your spouse to work hard so you can waste it all on shopping sprees?”

“Karen, please! Not now, okay? As you said, I’m still a newlywed. Give me time to adapt to my new status. I’m sure things will smooth themselves out with time. Besides, he’s not complaining and neither am I. So we’re good.”

“Okay, I’ll back off…for now.”
“Thank you,” I said gratefully with a sigh.

“So how are you going home today? Our last lecture ends pretty late.”
“Fitz will come and pick me up on his way home.”
“Isn’t that romantic?”
“If I didn’t know better, I’d say I hear a sarcastic tone behind that comment.”
“But thankfully, you do know better.”
 

As I approached the car waiting for me, I saw Fitz chatting with some young dude. Fitz turned as I neared them and smiled.

“Hi honey.” He gave me a light kiss on the cheek.

“I just ran into the son of a close friend of mine who also happens to school here. Meet my new wife.”

“Hello, congratulations.”
“Thanks.” The guy’s face froze and I smiled coolly.

“Hello, Tony.”

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim Sweeting says:

    You are really good at baiting he reader to anticipate what comes next…..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      Thanks, Kim. 🙂

      Like

  2. What is this white gown spell oba and money for young babes..tinny could be the son

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I know, right? 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WHERE HAVE THE SERIES BEEN?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. joseyphina says:

        Lol… In the archives 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lion/Lioness says:

    Does she know Tony? Is this someone she’s been involved with?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joseyphina says:

      I think you should start from the very beginning. It would make the story clearer to follow. I hope you enjoy it☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lion/Lioness says:

        Ok I will save it for Friday night reading

        Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading; would love to read your thoughts!

